LibGuides: COVID-19 Resources for ISU: For Researchers

Curated Literature Searches and COVID-specific databases

Free Databases

DisasterLit COVID-19 Search
This link will launch a realtime search in the DisasterLit database on COVID-19. The search was created by librarians at Johns Hopkins University and is used with their permission.
ProMed: Latest news on COVID-19
ProMed is a service of the International Society for Infectious Diseases and is an excellent resource for tracking the spread of the virus.
PubMed Search on COVID-19
This link will launch a real-time search in PubMed for COVID-19 articles. The search strategy was created by medical librarians at Johns Hopkins University and is used with their permission.
LitCovid
LitCovid is a curated literature hub for tracking up-to-date scientific information about the 2019 novel Coronavirus. Produced by the NLM, it contains over 950 articles about the virus.
WHOCOVID-19 Database
WHO is gathering the latest international multilingual scientific findings and knowledge on COVID-19. The majority of citations referenced are published journal articles. The global literature cited in the WHOCOVID-19 database is updated daily (Monday through Friday) from searches of bibliographic databases, hand searching, and the addition of other expert-referred scientific articles. Particular emphasis is placed on identifying literature from around the world.
MedRxiv, the preprint server for health sciences
Although the content in MedRxiv includes pre-prints that are not peer reviewed, some of the newest papers related to COVID-19 may be found here.
COVID--19 Open Research Dataset
In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the Allen Institute for AI has partnered with leading research groups to prepare and distribute the COVID-19 Open Research Dataset (CORD-19), a free resource of over 29,000 scholarly articles, including over 13,000 with full text, about COVID-19 and the coronavirus family of viruses for use by the global research community.

Literature/News Roundups

NEJM Topic Page on Coronavirus
A collection of articles and other resources on the Coronavirus (Covid-19) outbreak, including clinical reports, management guidelines, and commentary.
Imperial College of London COVID-19 page
COVID-19 reports, planning tools and video updates from the Imperial College of London MRC Centre for Global Infectious Disease Analysis
COVID-19 Live Literature Searches
The Australian Library and Information Association has put together links that will launch searches desgined by expert medical librarians on PubMed and LitCOVID on topics closely related to treating COVID-19 patients, such as PPE, surge planning, and more.
Updates from the NIH about coronavirus research

ISU Database Resources (Require Bengal ID and Last Name to Access)

UpToDate: Read a point-of-care summary for COVID-19
ISU students and faculty can access this article using their 9-digit Bengal ID and password.

Trackers (Also see Sidebar)

The COVID Tracking Project
"The COVID Tracking Project collects and publishes the most complete testing data available for US states and territories." Data from this project has been cited in major news sources.
American Enterprise Institute's COVID-19 Intervention Tracker by State
See what measures various US states are putting in place in response to the pandemic.

Trainings

Clinician Outreach and Communication Activity (CDC)
This CDC agency is hosting trainings for health professionals, as well as providing updated current infection and control recommendations. Check this website for upcoming COCA "calls" and webinars and get the most up-to-date guidance provided by the CDC.

COVID-19 Virtual Patient Simulator from New England Journal of Medicine
Introduces basic concepts of managing floor patients suspected of having COVID-19.

Important Note

The information in the guide you are viewing is meant to be practical, just-in-time information for faculty, students, and healthcare facilities at Idaho State University, and is not intended to be a comprehensive source of information about COVID-19. For more comprehensive guides, please see the "Further Resources" section of this guide.