Skip to main content

Biography: Find Books

A guide to assist research relevant to biography

Search Eli M. Oboler Library Catalog

Books & More



The Library has a number of books and e-books related to your field.  You can search by title, subject or author using the search box above.

eBook Collections

The Library orders online books through several different sources.  Browse categories or search for specific titles by looking through the links below.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find a book you need?  We can request the book from another library!  Just fill out the Interlibrary Loan Request Form

Requesting Books- Distance Students & Faculty

Did you know that distance students can order books from the Pocatello Library? The process is easy and almost always free to you!

Print Books

Alphabetical list of books with biographical information which are indexed by author in BGMI, includes call numbers

Use the Library Catalog

  • Here is a sample of a few books in the reference collection which include biographies.
    • Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy: REF B51 .R68 1998 (v. 1-10)
    • International Dictionary of Films and Filmmakers: REF PN1997.8 .I58 1997 (v. 1-4)
    • Early American Nature Writers (a biographical encyclopedia) REF PS163 .E18 2008
    • Dictionary of World Biography: REF CT104 .D54 1998 (v. 1-10)
    • Cops, Crooks, and Criminologists (an international biographical dictionary of law enforcement): REF HV7911.A1 A94 2000
    • American Men and Women of Science: REF Q141 .A474 (v. 1-8)

 

  • If you want a book about a person do a subject search.
    • Sample Subject Searches
      • last name, first name As a Subject Heading search
      • last name, first initial As a Subject Heading search

 

  • Sample Keyword Boolean searches
      • last name AND biograph? As a Keyword Boolean search
      • subject word AND biograph? As a Keyword Boolean search limited to Reference
      • subject word AND encyc? As a Keyword Boolean search limited to Reference

 

  • Books by an author and about an author are shelved near each other.
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources