Skip to main content

Library News

New Exhibit in Special Collections! Exploring an Industrial State: Southeast Idaho Railroads, 1879-1963

by Laura Gleason on 2019-08-19T09:44:58-06:00 | Comments

Copyrighted image of girls shaking hands with soldiers through open train windows.

New Exhibit at Idaho State University highlights the significance of Railroads in Southeast Idaho

     Idaho State University’s Eli M. Oboler Library hosts the opening and reception of the exhibition “Exploring an Industrial State: Southeast Idaho Railroads, 1879-1963”, on Tuesday, August 27, from 5-7 p.m. in the Special Collections and Archives department located on the lower level of the library. The event is free and open to the public.

     Career Path Interns Kelsey Baguley and Crystal Larsen curated the exhibit, which features railroad workers, unions, and operations, and highlights two prominent railroads in Southeast Idaho, the Union Pacific, and the Oregon Shortline. Both railroads contributed to the creation and maintenance of the railroad industry within Southeast Idaho.

     The exhibit, which runs from August 27, 2019 through May 31, 2020, features materials from various collections within Special Collections and Archives, and features maps, photographs, railroad publications, and postcards. 

     Special Collections and Archives at the Eli M. Oboler Library, Idaho State University acquires, preserves, and makes accessible research materials that document the historical, cultural, and folk life experience of Southeast Idaho, the Intermountain West, and the history of Idaho State University.

     For more information regarding this event, contact Ellen Ryan, Head of Idaho State University Special Collections and Archives, by calling (208) 282-3608 or emailing her at, ryanelle@isu.edu.

Ellen Ryan
Head of Special Collections and Archives
Idaho State University

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Subscribe



Enter your e-mail address to receive notifications of new posts by e-mail.

  Archive



  Follow Us



  Facebook
  Twitter
  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources