Skip to main content

Library News

Special Collections and Archives chosen by NEH

by Laura Gleason on 2017-08-31T13:55:00-06:00 in Special Collections, History

World War I veterans in class in the first forge shop, Idaho Technical Institute (now, Idaho State University), 1920.

Courtesy of Special Collections and Archives, Eli M. Oboler Library, Idaho State University.

 

The National Endowment for the Humanities (NEH) Division of Preservation and Access has selected the Special Collections and Archives of ISU Libraries for its "50 States of Preservation" project.  The NEH has been touring museums, libraries, historical societies and other repositories to explore and then document how they are preserving our nation's cultural heritage.  Only one location is chosen per state.

Randy Silverman, Preservation Librarian at the University of Utah’s Marriott Library was hired through a NEH Preservation and Assistance Grant for Smaller Institutions to tour our Library's Special Collections and Archives department and create a report of his findings.  Silverman's report highlighted the vital role that this library department provides to ISU students, faculty, and researchers.  Read the full story in a feature post by the Division of Preservation and Access of the NEH. 

Contact Ellen Ryan, Head of Special Collections & University Archives, to learn more about these research materials that document the historical, cultural, and folk life experience of Southeast Idaho, the Intermountain West, and the history of Idaho State University.


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources