LibGuides: Medical Laboratory Science: Find Articles

Key Journals

Archives of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
International, peer-reviewed journal of the College of American Pathologists.
Full-text: 2003 to present
Clinical Chemistry
Leading international journal of clinical laboratory science.
Full-text: 1955 to present
Clinics in Laboratory Medicine
Updates on the latest trends in clinical laboratory management, keeps up to date on the newest advances, and provides a sound basis for creating and working in a highly effective clinical laboratory.
Full-text: 2007 to present
Critical Reviews in Clinical Laboratory Sciences
Publishes review articles in all areas of clinical laboratory science (including clinical biochemistry, clinical hematology, clinical microbiology, pathology, transfusion medicine, genetics, and immunology).
Full-text: 2002 to present (Embargo: 18 months)
Laboratory Medicine
Published by the American Society for Clinical Pathology. Provides continuing education, career development, and new technologies to the entire laboratory community.
Full-text: 2000 to present (Embargo: 12 months)

Finding Articles

To find high quality articles, you need to start with high quality databases. The primary databases you should search are listed below. (Hover over the Find Articles tab above to see database tutorial pages.)

AccessPharmacy This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology| Communication Sciences and Disorders| Counseling| Dental Hygiene| Nutrition and Dietetics| Emergency Services| Evidence Based Medicine| Health Care Administration| Health Sciences| Law| Medical Laboratory Science| Nursing| Paramedic Science| Pharmacy| Physician Assistant| Psychology| Public Health| Radiographic Science Funded by ISU Department of Pharmacy
AGRICOLA (EBSCOhost) This link opens in a new window Subjects: Biology | Environmental Studies | Nutrition and Dietetics | Ecology | Chemistry Funded by ISU Libraries
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL is primarily a nursing information database, but it does contain quite a bit of information on the allied health fields.
ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology | Communication Sciences and Disorders | Consumer Health | Counseling | Dental Hygiene | Nutrition and Dietetics | Education of the Deaf | Emergency Services | Evidence Based Medicine | Health Care Administration | Health Sciences | Medical Laboratory Science | Nursing | Occupational Therapy | Paramedic Science | Pharmacy | Physical Education | Physical Therapy | Physician Assistant | Psychology | Public Health | Radiographic Science | Sign Language Interpreting | Social Work | Special Education | Speech Language Pathology | Sport Science Funded by ISU Libraries
Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology | Communication Sciences and Disorders | Counseling | Dental Hygiene | Nutrition and Dietetics | Emergency Services | Evidence Based Medicine | Health Care Administration | Health Sciences | Medical Laboratory Science | Nursing | Occupational Therapy | Paramedic Science | Pharmacy | Physical Therapy | Physician Assistant | Psychology | Public Health | Radiographic Science | Social Work | Special Education | Speech Language Pathology | Sport Science Funded by ISU Libraries
Dissertations and Theses, Proquest This link opens in a new window Subjects: General, Multidisciplinary | Business | Health Sciences | History | Literature and Literary Criticism | Political Science | Psychology | Sociology Funded by ISU Libraries
Dissertations and Theses, Proquest This link opens in a new window Subjects: General, Multidisciplinary | Business | Health Sciences | History | Literature and Literary Criticism | Political Science | Psychology | Sociology Funded by ISU Libraries
EBSCOhost Databases This link opens in a new window Subjects: General Funded by ISU Libraries
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar pulls information from the same source as PubMed, but it can be easier to search. This is an ISU specific link which will require a log-in if you are off campus.
PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is THE database to search when looking for biomedical, nursing or allied health articles. The link above will require a log-in (if you are off campus) which will allow you to access the full-text articles from journals the library subscribes to. See the video below for PubMed search tips.

Web of Science Web of Sciences is a database that covers many subjects, including the health sciences. You can use it to search for articles, but its primary strength is its citation tracking. If you need to know how many times an article was cited, this is the best source!

Help! Where is the entire article?

Journals by Title

Did you find an article you'd like read, but don't know if the library owns the journal? Enter the journal title below to find the full text.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text? Don't despair! Learn how you can request the article from another library and how to use our ILLiad interlibrary loan system.

Is This Journal Peer-Reviewed?

Enter the journal title into the Ulrich's database and look to see if the word 'refereed' appears, or you see an icon of referee's uniform. These both mean that the journal IS peer-reviewed.