Skip to main content

Music : Music Home

Provides links to and information about the best resources for music researchers at Idaho State University

Welcome!

This research guide is a starting point for ISU students, faculty, and staff who are conducting music research. Click on the tabs above to discover books, sheet music, journal articles, audio and video materials, databases, and other resources to help you with your research.

I welcome your suggestions for additions and improvements.

New Music Books at the ISU Library

News!

Have a look at this growing collection of online, open access resources for music research!   11/10/2015

10/7/15

At long last: RILM!

The Library now offers online access to RILM (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale), the premier tool for music research.  Please let me know if you have any questions; I will be learning its secrets as quickly as I can!  Use it, tell your students about it, and together we will prove how valuable this resource is.  Remember that it's not a full text resource, but that we should be able to borrow most items from other libraries (interlibrary loan using ILLiad).   Coverage is alleged to be from 1800 to the present; I found an item in RILM that was actually published in 1785.

I will be putting RILM on all the Research Guides that seem appropriate; please let me know if I am missing something.

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature (EBSCOhost)

Produced by Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale, this music bibliography features citations, abstracts, and subject indexing. From hip hop to Händel, from ethnomusicology to music therapy, from elementary music education to advanced music theory.

Here is a link to more information:

https://www.ebscohost.com/academic/rilm-abstracts-of-music-literature


 

 

Kristi Austin

Kristi Austin
Contact:
Eli M. Oboler Library
Idaho State University
850 South 9th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho 83209
Mail Stop 8089
Room 109A
(208) 282-4073

Helpful Links

ISU Music Dept., School of Performing Arts

Library Locations

The main ISU library is located in Pocatello, but there are also libraries at the Idaho Falls and Meridian campuses.

Eli M. Oboler Library
850 South 9th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho 83209-8089
Phone: (208) 282-2958
Fax: (208) 282-5847

ISU Library- Idaho Falls
1776 Science Center Drive, Room 250
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Phone:  (208) 282-7906

ISU Library- Meridian
1311 E. Central Dr.
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 373-1817
Fax: (208) 373-1768
Email: montmol2@isu.edu

The Meridian Library is located within the
Renassaince High School Library

 

Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources