The following are selected resources on genealogy and family history. The links below are intended as a guide to get you thinking about the types of resources genealogists can benefit from using for their research. This is by no means a list of every available resource. For more books on this subject, use the Library Catalog.
To find books in other libraries, use WorldCat, a collective catalog for thousands of libraries in the United States, Canada, and around the world. This catalog should not be used as a substitute for this library's catalog but as another avenue of searching for books.
Dictionary of French family names in North America : onomastics and genealogy by
"This dictionary contains data not only on the origins of French surnames in Qǔbec and Acadia, a great many of which eventually spread to many parts of North America, but also on those which arrived in the United States directly from various French-speaking European and Caribbean countries. In addition to providing the etymology of the original surnames, it also lists the multifarious variants that have developed over the last four centuries. A unique feature of this work in comparison to other onomastics dictionaries is the inclusion of genealogical information on most of the Francophone migrants to this continent, something which has been rendered possible not only by the excellent record-keeping in French Canada since the very beginnings of the colony, but also through the explosion of such data on the internet in the last couple of decades. In sum, this dictionary serves the dual purpose of providing information on the meanings of French family names on the North American continent, as well as on the migrants who brought them there" --Provided by publisher.
This link opens in a new window
The Dictionary of Genealogy by 
OXFORD DICTIONARY OF FAMILY NAMES IN BRITAIN AND IRELAND
"Containing entries for more than 45,000 English, Scottish, Welsh, Irish, Cornish, and immigrant surnames, The Oxford Dictionary of Family Names in Britain and Ireland is the ultimate reference work on family names of the UK. The Dictionary includes every surname that currently has more than 100 bearers. Each entry contains lists of variant spellings of the name, an explanation of its origins (including the etymology), lists of early bearers showing evidence for formation and continuity from the date of formation down to the 19th century, geographical distribution, and, where relevant, genealogical and bibliographical notes, making this a fully comprehensive work on family names. This authoritative guide also includes an introductory essay explaining the historical background, formation, and typology of surnames and a guide to surnames research and family history research. Additional material also includes a list of published and unpublished lists of surnames from the Middle Ages to the present day" -- Provided by publisher.
Encyclopedia of German-American Genealogical Research by 
Evidence! by 
Guide to Genealogical Research in the National Archives of the United States by 
Land and Property Research in the United States by 
The Source by