Skip to main content

COMM 1101 Workshop Series: Background Information

Common Sources

  • textbooks
  • encyclopedia
  • dictionaries
  • atlases
  • handbooks

 

Speech & Communications

Reference Sources

Use reference and general information sources to gain a working knowledge on your topic.  Be able to converse with someone knowledgeable about the topic for at least one minute without repeating yourself.

Reference:

Encyclopaedia Britannica Online

The Encyclopaedia Britannica is one of the world's foremost reference works. The online version contains more than 73,000 articles on history, the sciences, mathematics, literature, art, philosophy,...

Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)

A 24/7 virtual library of reference e-books in virtually any subject, including health, business, careers, history, literature, biography, science and many more, e.g.: Encyclopedia of Survey Research Methods, Encyclopedia of Urban Studies.

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection

Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection provides easily searchable, full text access to more than 100 reference titles from Oxford University Press, including A Dictionary of Sociology, A Supplementary Dictionary of Social Research Methods.

Reports:

CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly)

Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports. Shorter "Hot Topics" articles provide a solid introduction to subjects most in demand by students.

NewsBank:

NewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. For reports and topic ideas check  Current Events, Hot Topics and Find a Topic sections.

Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources