A general resource for information about eBooks at ISU Libraries and beyond.
Last Updated: Jul 24, 2015
This page is a comprehensive list of individual eBooks or eBook collections owned or subscribed to by ISU:
Due to license restrictions, off-campus access to these eBook collections is limited to ISU faculty, staff, and students only. Community patrons are welcome to use these resources from inside the Library. For more information about licensing restrictions click here.
- Global Reference Center
Britannica's Global Reference Center is the home of comprehensive online content in a variety of global languages: French, Simplified Chinese, Korean, Japanese and Spanish.
- CRCnetBASE: Engineering eBooks
CRCnetBASE currently includes searchable access to over 220 eBooks covering topics in general engineering. The handbooks can be browsed by table of contents or keyword search, either individually or combined. Individual chapters can also be downloaded as hi-res PDFs for offline viewing.
- Early English Books Online (ProQuest)
Early English Books Online (EEBO) contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
ebrary provides eBooks in a variety of subjects: law medicine, education, etc.Searching
- EBSCOhost eBooks
"EBSCOhost provides e-books covering a variety of subjects: law, medicine, education and more. There is a limit ranging from 1 to 3 users per book at a time.
Adobe Reader's preference must be set to "Display PDF in browser" (Edit, Preferences, Internet (category) in order to use EBSCOhost's eBook viewer. Learn more through EBSCO's Searching
and Download Help
- Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
The Encyclopaedia Britannica is one of the world's foremost reference works. The online version contains more than 73,000 articles on history, the sciences, mathematics, literature, art, philosophy, religion, health and medicine, languages, and more. In addition to articles, the Encyclopaedia Britannica Online includes audio and video clips, photographs and illustrations.
- Gale Virtual Reference Library (Gale)
Gale Virtual Reference library is a 24/7 virtual library of reference e-books. With electronic reference books from Gale and their publishing partners, researchers can access e-books in virtually any subject, including health, business, careers, history, literature, biography, science and many more.
- LearningExpress Library
“Whatever your goal, LearningExpress Library's resources will help you succeed. Each of our Learning Centers offers the practice tests, exercises, skill-building courses, e-books, and information you need to achieve the results you want—at school, at work, or in life. Looking to land a job? You'll find an entire Learning Center dedicated to helping you get the one that's right for you.” One time user registration
- Oxford English Dictionary Online
The Oxford English Dictionary Online provides access to all of the more than 500,000 entries in the latest edition of the Oxford English Dictionary and its supplements. This source also provides tools for fast searching of words by definition, by origin and history, by quotation, first cited use and more. Content is updated quarterly.
- Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection
The Oxford Reference Online: Premium Collection provides easily searchable, full-text access to more than 100 reference titles from Oxford University Press, including English and foreign language dictionaries; quotation and reference resources; and art, history, literature, statistical, scientific, and other subject encyclopedias and dictionaries.
- World Book
World Book web site offers an encyclopedia, dictionary, atlas, homework help, study aids, and curriculum guides.
- World Book Online Reference Center
World Book Online Reference Center is tailored to the needs and skills of patrons of high school age and above and offers features such as Computer and Web tutorials, How to..., documents on skills for living, and collections of links to government Web sites customized to your location. Research tools, including dictionary, atlas, Citation Builder, and local and country research guides, help users compile the data and information they need to complete their assignments and background research.
- GSA Field Guides
Field Guides of field trips held during GSA annual and section meetings as well as special meetings held in conjunction with other organizations are published under the guidance of experienced scientists who serve as ad hoc volume editors. Content is peer reviewed.
- GSA Memoirs
In the early 1930s, a generous bequest by Richard Alexander Fullerton Penrose, Jr., allowed GSA to begin publishing books in the Memoir and Special Paper series. Memoirs, first published in 1934, are intended to present thorough, well-illustrated treatments of topics, providing the authoritative reference on a subject for a decade or more. Content is peer reviewed. Volumes are chosen for publication by GSA science editors for their comprehensive coverage of a topic and their lasting value to researchers worldwide. Memoirs have been accepted into the Thomson Reuters Book Citation Index. Citations will be counted on the book, chapter, and author levels and will become part of an author’s H index score.
- GSA Reviews in Engineering Geology
GSA Reviews in Engineering Geology volumes, published since 1962, summarize geological theory or present case histories pertaining to engineering practice. This series is produced in cooperation with members of the GSA Environmental and Engineering Geology Division, who are responsible for selection, supervision of peer review, and acceptance of manuscripts. Reviews in Engineering Geology have been accepted into the Thomson Reuters Book Citation Index. Citations will be counted on the book, chapter, and author levels and will become part of an author’s H index score.
- GSA Special Papers
Special Papers, first published in 1934, were originally developed for articles that were too long to be published in the society’s journal, The Geological Society of America Bulletin. The series has evolved over the years and now includes monographs, symposium-based volumes, and longer, multi-author volumes with dedicated volume editors. Content is peer reviewed. Special Papers present state-of-the-art treatments of rapidly evolving subjects, the results of which may be altered or augmented by subsequent research. Many Special Papers have made lasting and significant contributions to the science, and all are vetted by science editors, who choose proposals and completed volumes that are of high quality and broad interest. A wide range of topics is covered from regions throughout the world. Special Papers have been accepted into the Thomson Reuters Book Citation Index. Citations will be counted on the book, chapter, and author levels and will become part of an author’s H index score
Drug therapy and pharmaceutical information including case studies, care plans, calculators, and NAPLEX review.
Collection of online medical/health books.
- Clinical Key
Clinical Key is a replacement to and an expansion of the MDConsult database. It includes over 1,000 full text medical and surgical textbooks, over 500 full text journals, hundreds of clinical procedure videos, drug information, point of care decision support, patient handouts and more!
- Ebrary- Health & Medicine
The Ebrary Health & Medicine collection features more than 500 ebooks covering medicine, public health, pharmacy, and nursing.
- Ebsco eBooks- Health & Medicine
Ebsco offers over 200 full-text ebooks in the areas of medicine, nursing and allied health.
Years Covered: Varies
American Pharmacists Association online books, interactive NAPLEX review exam, case studies, drug information, and instructor resources.
- Doody's Core Collection
"2012 Doody's Core Collection includes over 200 full-text books in the areas of clinical medicine, basic science, nursing, and allied health. These titles are considered the 'must have' books in each specialty."