LibGuides: Government Information: Census and Statistics

Web Resouces

1880 and 1900 Idaho Census data
Association of Religion Data Archives
This independent project collects statistical data on religion in the United States.
Decennial Census
From the Census Bureau, digitized volumes of the decennial census from 1790 to the present. Does not include information on individuals.
American Community Survey Profiles
Mirror site of the U.S. Census Bureau for American Community Survey information. Source: Missouri Census Data Center
Missouri Census Data Center AppLinks
1990-2010 data that includes not only Census Bureau figures but also the IRS, the BEA and more.

Resources

Bureau of Justice Statistics
A part of the US Department of Justice, this Web site has statistics and statistical abstracts of legal, crime, and corrections statistics.
Bureau of Labor Statistics
The Bureau of Labor Statistics is part of the US Department of Labor. This site contains statistical information on employment, economics, workers' safety, productivity, occupations, and more.

Census Data This link opens in a new window Information from the U.S. Census and American Community Surveys. Census information is for the 2000 and 2012 censuses. Also includes Economic censuses and Census of Governments information.

Data and Statistics about the U.S.
"Find data about the U.S., such as maps and population, demographic, and economic data."
more...less...
(collection of links to agencies that provide statistics)
Data.gov
"The home of the U.S. Government’s open data
Here you will find data, tools, and resources to conduct research, develop web and mobile applications, design data visualizations, and more"
National Center for Health Statistics--FASTATS
Hosted by the Centers for Disease Control, this site contains statistical information on health and disease in the United States.
National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) Abstracts
"The NCJRS Abstracts Database contains summaries of the more than 195,000 criminal justice, juvenile justice, and substance abuse resources housed in the NCJRS Library collection."

ProQuest Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window Subjects: History, Economics, Government, Statistics, Women's Studies, Health Sciences Funded by ISU Libraries
Social Explorer This link opens in a new window Subjects: Sociology | Political Science | Health Sciences Funded by ISU Libraries

Library Resources

Dictionaries

Dictionary of U.S. Government Statistical Terms (Reference Collection: HA 17. D 55 1991): This dictionary is designed to help students and researchers use the statistics provided by the United States Government. It defines and explains many of the terms used in government statistical tables, with notes about which agencies use which terms.

General Statistics Resources

Almanac of the 50 States (Reference Collection: HA 203. A 5 1999): This almanac contains short statistical profiles of all 50 states. The profile includes population, economics, environment, crime, and more. This almanac also includes comparative tables.

County and City Data Book (U.S. Documents, latest edition at Reference Desk: C 3.134/2-1:): This collection of county and city statistical profiles contains data about population, economics, housing, agriculture, labor, and more. The latest edition is also available online.

County and city extra: annual metro, city, and county data book (Reference Desk, Reference Collection, Main Book stacks HA203 .C68): Annual compilation of statistics for cities and counties.

Guide to U.S. Government Statistics (Reference Collection: Z 7554 .U5 G8 1997): This guide lists thousands of different statistical resources published by the United States government. Documents are organized by agency and cover weather and climate, agriculture and forestry, health, criminal justice, and more. Indexed.

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Documents Stacks C 3.134: 1878-1890, 1897-1898, 1900-1926, 1928-2012; Reference, with latest at Reference Desk HA202 .P7 2013-): This statistical abstract contains thousands of charts detailing the demographics, economics, education, and more of the United States. Indexed.

Statistics Sources (Reference Desk: Z 7551. S 84): Organized topically, this guide to statistics resources points out thousands of different places to find statistical information.

Historical Statistics

Datapedia of the United States: American History in Numbers (Reference Collection: HA 202. K 87 2004): This collection of historical statistical data covers the early nineteenth century to the present and provides tables on weather and climate, mortality, consumer income, food and nutrition, and more. Indexed.

Historical Statistics of the United States (Reference Desk: HA 202. H 57 2006): This five volume set contains thousands of charts, graphs, and tables that cover the population (volume one), work and welfare (volume two), economic structure and performance (volume three), economic sectors (volume four), and governance and international relations (volume five). Each volume contains a cumulative index.

Historical Statistics of the United States: Colonial Times to 1970 (Reference Desk: C 3.134/2: H 62/789-970): This two volume collection of historical United States statistics contains tables on transportation, vital statistics, immigration, agriculture, and more. Includes multiple indexes.