This guide provides basic information on where and how to search for health information.
Last Updated: Mar 16, 2015
The Library orders online books through several different sources. Browse categories or search for specific titles by looking through the links below.
So, you have to find information on a health topic?! Don't panic- The ISU Library has a lot of great resources to make this process easier than you think.
If your topic is specific to a particular subject- select one of the tabs at the top. We have listed the best databases for each of these topics.
Don't know where your topic fits? Try a search in one of the more general sources located below:
PubMed includes over 20 million citations in the areas of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, pharmacy, public health, allied health. Includes links to online and print journals purchased by Idaho State University, as well as some online books and book chapters.
- Google Scholar
Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Clinical Key
Clinical Key is a replacement to and an expansion of the MDConsult database. It includes over 1,000 full text medical and surgical textbooks, over 500 full text journals, hundreds of clinical procedure videos, drug information, point of care decision support, patient handouts and more!
- DynaMed (EBSCOhost)
Evidence-based medicine tool created by physicians for physicians and other health care professionals for use at the point-of-care.
- CINAHL with Full Text (EBSCOhost)
CINAHL is a key resource to find literature related to nursing and allied health disciplines, including athletic training, dental hygiene, medical/laboratory technology, social service in health care, and speech-language pathology.
- Web of Science
Web of Science includes the Science Citation Index, the Social Sciences Citation Index, and Arts and Humanities Citation Index, and allows researchers to search for citations from more than 5,000 journals.