U.S. Topographic Map Series:
PAPER COPIES
State Topographic Series:
All are shelved alphabetically by state name, then alphabetically by quadrangle name. The 15-minute maps are first, followed by the 7.5 minute. An index sheet is kept in the first 7.5-minute drawer of each state.
Located in the Maps area
[USGS] Topo Maps (Oct 1979-Dec 1980). 9 reels (Rolls 303-311)
[USGS] Topo Maps (Jan-Dec 1981). 8 reels (Rolls 371-378)
Aerial Photos: The collection consists of 711 photos covering a few Southeast Idaho areas that are at least 25 years old (1978 or earlier) with poor indexing. They are kept in Special Collections (Library basement).
Atlases: They are bound collections of individual maps with text. General world atlases contain predominantly geographic or locational maps on a small scale, while national atlases are restricted to a single country or area. National atlases also contain maps on many different subjects. Some atlases cover only one subject such as economics, agriculture, or climate. Most of the library's atlases can be located through the Library Catalog.
Base Maps: A base map is any map containing only basic geographic information such as boundaries, towns, rivers, transportation routes, etc. which can be used for location or in correlation with other data.
Flood Prone Maps: These are black and white 7.5 minute maps of Idaho showing the areas of rivers, creeks, etc. that are prone to flooding and the distance which the floods may spread. The Idaho maps are located in Special Collections (Library basement.) Some additional states are on microfilm.
Folded Maps in Envelopes: Some maps come folded in envelopes. Many USGS folded maps are located in the U.S. Documents Collection and Idaho Geologicial Survey maps are located in the Idaho Documents Collection.
G Number Maps (Library of Congress Classification): This is a geographic and subject system used for the sheet maps filed in the WHITE labels or the folded map section. It consists of a combination of codes representing major geographic area, sub-area, and subject. The numbers are written on the lower right hand corner of the sheet maps. Note the following samples:
|
G3200 |
G3701 |
G4373 |
G7000 |
|
1993 |
L1 |
B2 |
1990 |
|
U5 |
1991 |
1994 |
N3 |
|
U5 |
M4 |
Globe: A 16-inch globe, Rand McNally's Advanced Physical/Political Globe, is available. It is located on top of the sheet map cases.
Microfilmed Maps (reels): ISU has 380 reels from the National Archives.
Military Maps: They cover mainly foreign areas with both large and small scale coverage and are arranged by their own series number system.
Find the uncataloged ones by using either the Army Map Depository Catalog Index or the typed list titled Military Maps in the ISU Library Map Collection. Both are located on top of the map cases containing these maps.
(In the Catalog Index, find the series number and look in their catalog under the series number. This will show the mapped quadrangles by grid and area for all the maps in that series. The Map Collection has all maps sheets with a red line marked diagonally in the quadrangle). Some of the maps in this group have been cataloged and are filed with the cataloged maps and can be located using the Library Catalog.
Othrophoto Maps: These maps are usually black and white, although sometimes color and show land features with enhanced photographic images of the area. The imagery depicts a more true-to-life view of an area. These maps are included in with the topographic maps in the WHITE labeled map cases.
Outline Maps: These maps have just sufficient geographic information to permit the correlation of additional data placed on them. An outline map contains less material than a base map. Most of these maps are mixed in with the sheet maps and there is no way to identify them except by their call number. Usually the 2nd row of numbers will have an A1, e.g. G3701 A1 1954 U5.
Rare Maps: These maps are kept in Special Collection (Library basement). All of the older editions of the Idaho topographic maps are kept there too.
Raised Relief Maps: These are plastic relief maps with realistic visual physical features. Several samples of selected Idaho areas are available plus a few other areas.
Road Maps: These are available for some cities, states, and countries. Many of the smaller ones are kept in the gray filing cabinet. They are filed in two orders: (1) Road Maps - U.S., alphabetical by state then by city or (2) Road Maps - Foreign, alphabetical by country. An index is available in a folder on top of the filing cabinet.
Sanborn Fire Insurance Maps of Idaho: Collection of large-scale city plans with detail to the block and building level. The Oboler Library provides access to the following compilations:
Digital 1867-1970 Digital Sanborn Maps
Available to ISU students, faculty and staff only; login required from off-campus locations.
Late 19th Century to 1920. 2 reels
Special Collections, Intermountain West
G4271.G475 1976 .U54
1884-1950. 5 reels
Special Collections, Intermountain West
G4271.G475 1950 .S36
1950-1970. 1 reel
Special Collections, Intermountain West
G4271.G475 1970 .S36
Sheet Maps: Most of the Map Collection consists of big maps on sheets of paper. They are located in three sections. WHITE labels for cataloged sheet maps; YELLOW labels for topographic maps; and ORANGE labels for Military maps.
Subject Maps: They are included with the maps in the WHITE labeled cases. Subject maps are also in atlases.
Thematic Maps: This is the proper name for maps on different subjects.
Topographic Maps: A topographic map is a graphic representation of selected man-made and natural features of a part of the earth's surface. The distinguishing characteristic of these maps is the portrayal of the shape and elevation of the terrain.
The Map Collection's major series of topographic maps covers primarily the Western United States along with three series, which cover the whole United States. The states are in an alphabetical arrangement, except that Idaho is in a separate map cabinet. Series covering the whole U.S. are located in some drawers in the area.
State topographic maps can be located through using an index map which is kept in the first 7.5 minute drawer for each state in the YELLOW labeled map cases. (Additional copies are located on top of the WHITE labeled cabinets.) The Idaho Index is on a table near the Idaho map storage cabinet.