What is OneSearch Discovery Service? Let’s define it . . .
OneSearch is an online research tool that “pulls together” ISU’s Library resources so that they can be explored using a single search box. In other words, rather than searching the Library Catalog for books and databases for journal articles, you can search OneSearch and get results which include books, e-books, journal articles, industry reports, videos, music scores, government documents, etc. in one list. In fact, you could think of OneSearch as the Library’s version of Google.
OneSearch is a search tool that allows you to search the Library Catalog along with millions of scholarly e-resources all at the same time. The results from a search are ranked, so even though your results are usually numbered in the hundreds of thousands, the best matches are found in the first few pages. Some of OneSearch's advantages:
It works like this . . .
Technically-speaking, OneSearch provides an integrated index for most of our Library resources. Although it is an EBSCO product, your search results will also include non-EBSCO resources such as:
OneSearch is a great starting place for research, but sometimes you will need more specialized tools like CINAHL, MLA, or JSTOR which you can find in the Databases list or you can find databases by discipline in our Subject Guides.
Please, note that OneSearch Discovery Service is still a work in progress, with EBSCO continually rolling out enhancements. If you identify a functionality that is currently missing or could be improved, please let us know and we’ll forward your suggestions to EBSCO Support.
Adapted from EBSCO Support, Louisiana Tech University Library.
When using ISU Libraries’ OneSearch, you are searching millions of e-resources from hundreds of publishers and aggregators. The database of all of these combined resources is the knowledgebase. Some of these e-resources are not fully available to ISU users. Selecting Full Text or Catalog Only will narrow your results to only those items to which ISU Libraries have access. If you want to see more, you can easily expand your results by not selecting either of these options.
If your search results include items that are not available through the ISU Libraries, you can use Interlibrary Loan to request them from another library.
It includes our local library collection of eBooks, periodicals (journals, magazines, and newspapers), media (CDs, DVDs, and videos), maps, music scores, and government documents. The catalog includes items located at our Meridian and Idaho Falls campus libraries. Note that the Library Catalog does not include individual journal articles.
This is a comprehensive list of our paper and electronic journals and magazines. It can be searched by title, ISSN, subject, or provider/publisher. This is the best resource to search if you want to know if the library has a subscription to a certain journal or magazine, for example Newsweek or National Geographic. The A to Z Journal List does not search for individual article titles.
The ISU Libraries subscribe to 300+ databases covering multiple research topics. For a complete list of databases click on the Databases tab on the library's homepage. Click the View all option to sort the list by subject, vendor or database type. Database types include Articles, Reports, Reviews; Case Studies; eBooks; Government Publications; Media (audio, video, images); Musical Scores; Newspapers; Patient Education; Primary Sources, Archival Collections; Reference, Dictionaries, Encyclopedias; and more.
You can also access lists of databases and resources for specific subject areas by using our Subject Guides page. This page organizes many resources into a specific subject area so that it is easier to find out which resources have information about nursing, or chemistry, or theater or many others areas.
OneSearch on the Idaho Health Science Library website is customized to search across biomedical databases simultaneously, locating scholarly articles, books, and audiovisual items.
OneSearch includes many different sources brought together into a single search interface. Several search options are available and you can expand or narrow your search results based on your research needs.
Full Text: Selecting Full Text will return only those items which have full text available either online or physically available in the Library.
Peer-Reviewed: Selecting this option will limit your search to only those resources that are peer-reviewed, that is, reviewed by experts or editors specializing in that field.
Catalog Only: Limits search results to only those items listed in the Library Catalog.
