Skip to main content

Research Services

About the Research Services department and how we can help you with your research

Welcome

Welcome to the Oboler Library's Research Services department!  We are here to help you with your research needs.  Just ask!

What is a Reference Source?

What is a reference source?  Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, directories, phone books, almanacs, etc., books you'd use to look up some background information, facts, the spelling of a word or its meaning, and so forth. The Oboler Library has a large reference collection in print, located on the 1st floor of the building.  You also have access to a great many of these kinds of sources electronically, by using our library catalog , OneSearch, or through one of the reference "packages" like Oxford Reference Online or Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Why not just "Google it" or use Wikipedia?  Because college-level research requires that we use scholarly, reliable, accurate, and current information to support our claims, arguments, and opinions, and not many free web resources can promise that the information they provide is as accurate as an encyclopedia edited and written by experts and published by Oxford, Cambridge, Yale, etc.

New Reference Resources

We have recently added many titles to Oxford Reference Online!  Oxford Reference Online is a great collection of full-text reference books, including encyclopedias, dictionaries, handbooks, etc.  These may be searched using Oxford Reference Online, the Library Catalog, and OneSearch.  Ask for assistance at the Reference Desk.

Here is a list of the new titles:

  • Benezit Dictionary of British Graphic Artists
  • Berkshire Dictionary of Chinese Biography
  • Berkshire Encyclopedia of China
  • Berkshire Encyclopedia of Sustainability
  • Berkshire Encyclopedia of World History, 2e
  • Black Women in America, 2e
  • Brewer's Famous Quotations
  • Contiuum Complete International Encyclopedia of Sexuality
  • Dictionary of Caribbean and Afro-Latin American Biography
  • Dictionary of Christian Art and Architecture, 2e
  • Dictionary of Untranslatables: A Philosophical Lexicon 
  • Encyclopaedic Dictionary of International Law, 3e
  • Encyclopedia of Climate and Weather, 2e
  • Encyclopedia of Human Rights
  • Encyclopedia of Semiotics
  • Encyclopedia of Social Work, 20e
  • Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment
  • Encyclopedia of the History of American Management
  • Grove Dictionary of Musical Instruments, 2e
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Medieval Art and Architecture
  • Grove Encyclopedia of Northern Renaissance Art
  • International Encyclopedia of Linguistics, 2e
  • International Studies Encyclopedia
  • New Oxford Companion to Literature in French
  • Oxford Companion to Crime and Mystery Writing
  • Oxford Companion to Edwardian Fiction
  • Oxford Companion to German Literature, 3e
  • Oxford Companion to Italian Literature
  • Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Literature in English
  • Oxford Companion to Women's Writing in the United States
  • Oxford Dictionary of Byzantium
  • Oxford Dictionary of Original Shakespeare Pronunciation
  •  Oxford Dictionary of the Middle Ages
  • Oxford Dictionary of the Renaissance
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Climate Change Communication
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Crime, Media, and Pop Culture
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of Economic History
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Islamic World
  • Oxford Encyclopedia of the Reformation
  • Oxford Encyclopedia Women in World History 
  • Oxford Guide to Literature in English Translation
  • Princeton Dictionary of Buddhism
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources