Instructional Services: Library Support for Online Instruction

With the transition from Moodle to Canvas, University instructors need to reduce the digital footprint of their courses. This page describes one solution for doing just that. Rather than upload large pdf files to your course, link to the library database records, so students can download or read the articles directly.

Recent changes to the EBSCOhost databases, which includes OneSearch and many others, makes it possible to copy and paste a web address from a search or database record that can be embedded as a hyperlink or shared as a web address and still function for the user. Other databases require that users copy and paste a permalink from their database to access a specific record in the database.

Linking to articles in the databases has many advantages:

1. Provides convenient student and instructor access to articles
2. Reduces the size of an instructor's course in the learning management system (LMS)
3. Helps students become familiar with library tools
4. Follows copyright law
5. Complies with our vendors' license agreements
6. Makes it easier to track usage of library resources, which increases the justification of continued use and greater access to materials for all University constituents

Another option for sharing digital and print items with students is our Course Reserves service. Digitized articles, chapters, or documents can be shared electronically via the library's catalog, which asks students to log in with their nine-digit student ID number and last name. Physical books, media items, and documents can be placed on reserve and picked up by students in the library. Learn more on the Course Reserves Collection page for professors.

If you have questions not answered by this guide or encounter problems linking to articles, please report your problem, and we will work to find a solution.