IMPORTANT: The use of images is subject to U.S. copyright law. If an image is copyrighted, you must ask permission--and often pay--to use it with an accompanying credit line. That is the law. If an image is in the public domain and thus freely available to use, often it will say so and provide credit information.
If you are not sure if an image is in the public domain, contact the person or entity responsible for the image and ask permission for one-time educational use with an accompanying credit line. For more on copyright, see the U.S. Copyright Office FAQs.
The Reference section of the Oboler Library is located on the first floor. These items are not available for checkout and must be used in the Library, unless otherwise noted as being in the Main Collection, or accessible online.
Barrington atlas of the Greek and Roman world. G3201.S2 2000 .B3 (Reference)
Civilization of the ancient Mediterranean: Greece and Rome. DE59.C55 1988 (Main collection only)
Civilizations of the Ancient Near East. (on order as of 10-07-2022)
Encyclopaedia Judaica. DS102.8.E496 (Reference)
Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. (on order as of 10-07-2022)
Encyclopedia of the Ancient Greek World. DF16.S23 2005 (Reference; also available at the Idaho Falls campus)
Encyclopedia of the Ancient World. CB311.E535 2000 (Reference)
Historical dictionary of Ancient Egypt. (on order as of 10-07-2022)
Oxford classical dictionary. DE5.09 1996 (Reference; also available online)
The Cambridge Ancient History. D57.C252 (Main collection)
The Oxford companion to classical civilization. DE5.094 2014 (Idaho Falls campus only; also available online)
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Ancient Egypt. DT58.O94 2001 (Reference)
The Oxford handbook of science and medicine in the classical world (e-book available to ISU faculty, students, and staff via the Library's catalog)
There are currently over 300 databases that the Oboler Library provides access to for those currently enrolled students, faculty, and staff at Idaho State University. Of those, 98 databases pertain directly to the subject of history. To access the Library's databases, go the the Library's homepage and search databases individually, or choose, "view all" and scroll through the titles.