Skip to main content

Library News

American Indian Histories and Cultures, a collection coming soon to ISU through crowdfunding support and matching funds by the ISU Libraries

by Laura Gleason on 2017-11-03T14:33:00-06:00 in American, Ethnic Studies, Anthropology, American Studies, History

Photograph at Fort Hall in 1885 with Tee pee and Native Americans

Image courtesy of Special Collections and Archives, Eli M. Oboler Library, Idaho State University. All rights reserved.

 

We Need Your Help

American Indian Histories and Cultures collection is so important for our students at ISU that we are willing to give $10, 000 of the Library Dean’s Excellence Fund for this project!

Your dontation plus matching library dontation equals total funds raised

 

History department talks about American Indian Histories and Cultures:

“It contains many documents that I can use not only for my own research, but also for use by my students, particularly in my Early North America course. The manuscript and print sources are wonderful, and the early maps add a great dimension often missing from these sorts of digitized collections. The site is easy to navigate, documents are downloadable, and provides an excellent user experience”

—Paul Sivitz, Ph.D.

“Primary sources are the meat of historical analysis, and access to [this database] will enrich student learning in a range of classes such as North American West, Native American History, Idaho History, Federal Indian Relations, Latin America, and courses on various periods in U.S. history”

—Kevin Marsh, Ph.D

Young Native American woman with young child strapped to her back and 1920s model car in foreground

Scope and content

The wide range of material included in American Indian Histories and Cultures presents a unique insight into interactions between American Indians and Europeans from their earliest contact, continuing through the turbulence of the American Civil War, the on-going repercussions of government legislation, right up to the civil rights movement of the mid- to late-twentieth century.

This resource contains material from the Newberry Library’s extensive Edward E. Ayer Collection; one of the strongest archival collections on American Indian history in the world. It focuses on material relating to American Indian history in the United States, Canada and Mexico.

©Adam MatthewDigital

 

Get in Touch

        ONLINE: supportisu.org/campaigns/library

BY PHONE:

  • ISU Libraries (208) 282-2671
  • ISU Foundation (208) 282-3470

PHYSICAL ADDRESS:

  • 850 S. 9TH AVENUE, POCATELLO, IDAHO 83209

MAILING ADDRESS

  • 921 S. 8TH AVENUE, STOP 8089, POCATELLO, IDAHO 83209-8089

ISU Foundation
c/o ISU Libraries

  • 921 S. 8TH AVENUE, STOP 8050, POCATELLO, IDAHO 83209-8050

 

 


 Add a Comment

0 comments.

  Back to Blog Home
This post is closed for further discussion.

title
Loading...
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources