Skip to main content

History: Home

Resources for research in history.

Library Locations

The main ISU library is located in Pocatello, but there are also libraries at the Idaho Falls and Meridian campuses.

Eli M. Oboler Library
850 South 9th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho 83209-8089
Phone: (208) 282-2958
Fax: (208) 282-5847

ISU Library- Idaho Falls
1776 Science Center Drive, Room 250
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Phone:  (208) 282-7906

ISU Library- Meridian
1311 E. Central Dr.
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 373-1817
Fax: (208) 373-1768
Email: whitkri5@isu.edu

Request Training

Are you an instructor? Would you like a librarian to teach your class to use these resources?  We are happy to help!  Visit the library Instructional Services page to learn more. 

Are you looking for help on how to access the Library's services? We offer a series of tutorials to help you find what you need! Visit the library Tutorial page to learn more.

Welcome!

This guide serves as a starting point for students, faculty, staff, and the general public who are interested in the subject of History and using the ISU Library. Click on the tabs above to discover books, journal articles, databases and other resources to help you with your research.  Our books are located in the main Library, and are available for circulation; our holdings can be located by searching the Library Catalog. Reference service is provided at the reference desk, located on the first floor of the Library, just past the circulation desk and on the left.  

Additionally, the Intermountain West collection, Rare Books collection, manuscript collections, historic photograph collections, and the University Archives, are housed in Special Collections and Archives, located on the lower level of the library. 

Books located in Special Collections can be found by searching the Library Catalog; our manuscript collections and University Archives can be located by searching our finding aids.  Reference service for items located in Special Collections and Archives is provided at the reference desk located at the entrance to our Reading Room.  Please note that items in Special Collections do not circulate, and, that our hours of operation differ from those of the main Library.

 

Planning Your Visit to Special Collections

Researchers are highly encouraged to contact the Department prior to their visit to ensure access to  the materials required.  Advanced notice of your visit and research topic will also enable archives staff to prepare for your visit and provide better service.  We want to make your research experience as productive as possible. 

For research and reference requests, or to make an appointment, please email us at isuarchs@isu.edu or call (208) 282-3249.

Head of Special Collections and Archives

Contact:

850 South 9th Avenue

Pocatello, Idaho 83209

 

For research  and reference requests, or to make an appointment, please email ryanelle@isu.edu. 

Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources