Skip to main content

Research Services

About the Research Services department and how we can help you with your research

Welcome

Welcome to the Oboler Library's Research Services department!  We are here to help you with your research needs.  Just ask!

What is a Reference Source?

What is a reference source?  Dictionaries, encyclopedias, handbooks, manuals, directories, phone books, almanacs, etc., books you'd use to look up some background information, facts, the spelling of a word or its meaning, and so forth. The Oboler Library has a large reference collection in print, located on the 1st floor of the building.  You also have access to a great many of these kinds of sources electronically, by using our library catalog , OneSearch, or through one of the reference "packages" like Oxford Reference Online or Gale Virtual Reference Library.

Why not just "Google it" or use Wikipedia?  Because college-level research requires that we use scholarly, reliable, accurate, and current information to support our claims, arguments, and opinions, and not many free web resources can promise that the information they provide is as accurate as an encyclopedia edited and written by experts and published by Oxford, Cambridge, Yale, etc.

New Reference Resources in Print

We recently added to our print reference collection.  Some of the titles are:

  • Adjudicating new governance: deliberative democracy in the European Union - call no: KJE3655 .K67 2015
  • American reformers - call no: CT215 .A67 2017
  • Banned Books: defending our freedom to read - call no: Z658.U6 D69 2017
  • Bilingual and multilingual education - call no: LC3715 .B355 2017
  • Complete Bill of Rights: the drafts, debates, sources, and origins - call no: KF4744 2015
  • Concise guide to information literacy - call no: ZA3075 .L36 2017
  • The eastern Arctic seas encyclopedia - call no: G820 .Z65 2016
  • Encyclopedia of African colonial conflicts - call no: DT31 .E53 2017  v.1  and DT31 .E53 2017  v.2
  • Handbook of European intelligence cultures - call no: JF1525.I6 H36 2016
  • Oxford handbook of U.S. social policy - call no: HN57 .O945 2015
  • Political corruption in America: an encyclopedia of scandals, power, and greed - call no: JK2249 .G767 2017  v.1 and JK2249 .G767 2017  v.2
  • Vaccination and its critics: a documentary and reference guide - call no: RA638 .R68 2017
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources