Annotated Bibliography A list of sources, formatted in a specific style that includes a description or evaluation for each item.
See also: Bibliography
Article A piece of writing included with others in a newspaper, magazine, or other publication.
Author Search A search method that only searches the author field within a database, catalog, or search engine.
See also: Field(s), Keyword Search, Search, Subject Search, Title Search
Book A written or printed work consisting of pages glued or sewn together along one side and bound in covers.
Bibliography A list of sources that stands alone or is found at the end of a paper, article, chapter, or book. It provides information about the sources so another person can find and use the source.
See also: Annotated Bibliography, Reference, Source, Works Cited
Call Number A unique identifier (like a street address) given to library items so they can be easily found. Items about the same subject often have similar call numbers. Major call number systems include Dewey Decimal and Library of Congress.
Citation A specific method to clearly identify a source within the body of a research or scholarly document.
Credible Worthy of belief or confidence; trustworthy; reliable.
Current/Currency An evaluation criteria used to determine if the date of publication of the information is suitable for your paper, speech, presentation, project, etc. Different disciplines use various year ranges to determine what is current.
Database A searchable set of records. The set of records could be for articles, books, images, etc. Each record includes specific information about an item comprised of fields.
See also: Catalog, Field, Search Engine, OneSearch
Examples: Amazon, OneSearch, Google Play Store
Deep Web Parts of the internet (typically databases) unavailable through conventional search engines, like Google or Yahoo. One must pay, subscribe, login, or know the direct URL to visit these sites and databases. Also known as the Hidden Web.
Examples: Your online banking account, your bengalweb account, PayPal, etc.
Field A specific component of a database record that includes unique information. In search engines, fields can be used to limit or focus a search.
See also: Record
Examples: Author (Shelley, Mary), Title (Frankenstein), Subject (Gothic, Horror, Sci-Fi)
Interlibrary Loan Sharing (lending/borrowing) materials between libraries. Interlibrary materials have different due dates and fines.
Keyword Search A specific type of search method within a database, catalog, or search engine that uses minimal limits or parameters. The search term(s) (word or phrase) may be located anywhere in the record (title, abstract, full text, subject heading, etc.)
See also: Author Search, Field, Search, Subject Search, Title Search
Library Catalog A type of database, searchable online, used by libraries that includes information about the items they own or subscribe to. Each item’s record in the catalog provides information like title, author, call number, and floor location.
Library Research Using sources such as books and articles to collect information on a topic. This is different from primary research, which uses original experiments or tests.
Objective/Objectivity Not influenced by personal feelings or opinions when representing facts; impartial.
OneSearch The specific search engine used within the Idaho State University Libraries’ website. This will browse multiple databases and our catalog.
Open Web The parts of the internet that is available for free and can be accessed by anyone. This is also where anyone can publish on the web. Free web search engines (Google, Bing, Yahoo...) search only this portion of online items.
Peer-Reviewed Has been approved by a panel of experts in the same field of study before it is accepted for publication. Also could be called a refereed or scholarly source.
Purpose An evaluation criteria used to determine the reason why the information exists.
See also: Authority, Currency, Relevancy
Record Information about an item within a database comprised of fields.
See also: Database, Field
Reference A source or sources cited within a paper, presentation, article, etc. and listed in a bibliography.
See also: Annotated Bibliography, Bibliography
Research Research in the most general sense is simply a search for knowledge or truth. The search process itself may be as simple as informally consulting a friend or as complex as designing and implementing a formal billion dollar scientific study. Formal research is always characterized by careful attention to method, and original research is a complex expert investigation.
Scholarly Journal A publication comprised of articles and devoted to research and scholarship in a specific discipline or field of knowledge. Articles undergo a rigorous review process before acceptance.
See also: Article, Peer-reviewed
Examples: Ethnicity and Inequalities in Health and Social Care, Modern Fiction Studies
Search In library research, using structured mechanisms such as a catalog, search engine, database, etc., either online or print-based, to find information relevant to a topic or project.
Search Engine Software and programming created to retrieve information from a database, computer, or the Internet.
See also: Database
Examples: Google, OneSearch, Academic Search Complete
Search Strategy A plan or set of steps for conducting a search.
Search Term A word or phrase typed into an online catalog, database, or search engine to retrieve relevant information.
Source
1. Any item used to glean or expand knowledge about a topic or discipline.
2. During library research, these are used to support one's thesis statement or answer a research question.
3. A specific item cited or listed in a bibliography of a paper, speech, presentation, project, etc.
Subject Heading A specific field within a database record that describes the content of the items such as a book or article.
See also: Database, Record(s)
Subject Search A search method that only searches the subject field within a database, catalog, or search engine.
See also: Author Search, Field, Keyword Search
Title Search A search method that only searches the title field within a database, catalog, or search engine.
See also: Author Search, Field, Keyword Search, Search, Subject Search