LibGuides: Homeland Security & Emergency Management: Finding Government Reports & Data

Need Help?

Idaho State University Libraries have experienced library faculty and staff ready to help!

Chat with a Librarian
Email a Librarian
Meet with a Librarian
Our librarians are happy to meet with you via Zoom
Call a Librarian

Visit the library's YouTube channel or tutorial page for videos on how to use the library and conduct research for your class.

Sources for Online Data, Statistics, & Reports

The following sites provide data, statistics, and information at local and statewide levels.

Idaho

Idaho Office of Emergency Management
Idaho Sheriffs Association
Idaho State Police
County and City Data Book: 2007 "The County and City Data Book is the most comprehensive source of information about the individual counties and cities in the United States. It includes data for all U.S. states, counties, and cities with a population of 25,000 or more. It contains additional data for places with a population of 100,000 or more. Also included is a complete set of state maps showing all counties, places of 25,000 or more population, and metropolitan areas." [NOTE: The Census Bureau discontinued this publication due to budgetary concerns. This is the last edition. To access the most current data, please refer to the organizations cited in the source notes for each table. If you have questions about how to do so, please contact a librarian.]
County and City Data Books: 1944-2000 (University of Virginia Library) "This resource provides access to the 1944 through 2000 County and City Data Books. This service provides the opportunity to create custom printouts and/or customized data subsets (subsets only available for 1988-2000)."
State and Local Areas Data Books (U.S. Census Bureau) "The State and Local Area Web site allows online access to the data provided by the Statistical Abstract supplement publications, State and Metropolitan Area Data Book and County and City Data Book."
QuickFacts for State & Counties (U.S. Census) Quick, easy access to facts about people, business, and geography

Portland Metro Area

Portland Bureau of Emergency Management "PBEM promotes readiness, coordinates response, and builds resilience for Portland. This includes developing and implementing strategic planning, programs, and policies to continually advance Portland's mitigation, preparedness, response, and recovery capabilities."
Portland Maps Locate demographic and statistical information based on location via the maps. Possibilities include: assessor/tax lot information, aerial photography, building footprints, building permits, parks. mass transit, schools, etc.
Portland Police Bureau "The mission of the Portland Police Bureau is to reduce crime and the fear of crime. We work with all community members to preserve life, maintain human rights, protect property and promote individual responsibility and community commitment."

Oregon

Oregon Office of Emergency Management "The Oregon Office of Emergency Management is a division of the Oregon Military Department. The office coordinates and maintains a statewide emergency services system for emergency and disaster communications. "
Oregon Office of Emergency Management - Emergency Management Resources "The Oregon Office of Emergency Management (OEM) works in the five mission areas of emergency management: Prevention, Preparedness, Mitigation, Response and Recovery."
Oregon State Police "Founded in 1931, the mission of the Oregon State Police is to serve the State of Oregon with a diverse workforce dedicated to the protection of people, property and natural resources."
Oregon State Sheriffs' Association - Meet Your Sheriffs Locate Oregon sheriffs by county or by name.

SW Washington

Washington Emergency Management Division "The Washington Emergency Management Division leads and coordinates mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery in Washington State to minimize the impact of disasters and emergencies on the people, property, environment and economy."
Washington State Patrol "The WSP is a professional law enforcement agency made up of dedicated professionals who work hard to improve the quality of life of our citizens and prevent the unnecessary loss of life on a daily basis. We will continue to work aggressively to enforce laws around the state while protecting the people of Washington from injury and grief."

California

Cal OES

The following sites provide data, statistics, and information at a national level.

Demographics

Census Data "Census Data (formerly, American FactFinder) provides access to data about the United States, Puerto Rico and the Island Areas. The data in American FactFinder come from several censuses and surveys."
Statistical Abstracts Series: 1878-2012 (U.S. Census Bureau) "The authoritative and comprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States. The U.S. Census Bureau terminated the collection of data for the Statistical Compendia program effective October 1, 2011.
U.S. Census Bureau Find population data and information on economic conditions, ethnic groups, poverty, and income.

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports - Variety of Topics

Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports [gathered by CRSReports.com] Copies of Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports gathered and provided by CRSReports.com.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports [gathered by EveryCRSReport.com] "Congressional Research Service reports are the best way for anyone to quickly get up to speed on major political issues without having to worry about spin — from the same source Congress uses."
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports [gathered by Federation of American Scientists] Copies of Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports gathered and provided by the Federation of American Scientists.
Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports [gathered by the Government Documents Department at the UNT Libraries] "The Congressional Research Service (CRS) does not provide direct public access to its reports, requiring citizens to request them from their Members of Congress. Some Members, as well as several non-profit groups, have posted the reports on their web sites. This site is not affiliated with the Congressional Research Service, but aims to provide integrated, searchable access to many of the full-text CRS reports that have been available at a variety of different web sites since 1990."

Emergency Management

Disaster Information Management Center (NLM) "The core purpose of the Disaster Information Management Research Center (DIMRC) is to develop and provide access to health information resources and technology for disaster preparedness, response, and recovery. Our intent is to connect people to quality disaster health information and foster a culture of community resiliency." (From the National Library of Medicine)
Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) "FEMA’s mission is to support our citizens and first responders to ensure that as a nation we work together to build, sustain and improve our capability to prepare for, protect against, respond to, recover from and mitigate all hazards." Some sections of the site to pay attention to: Data VisualizationDocument & Resource LibraryEmergency Management InstituteFact SheetsNational Institute Management SystemResource & Document LibraryRegion X: AK, ID, OR, WA
MedlinePlus: Disaster Preparation and Recovery Resources gathered and reviewed by the National Library of Medicine.
National Interagency Fire Center "The National Interagency Fire Center (NIFC), located in Boise, Idaho, is the nation's support center for wildland firefighting. Eight different agencies and organizations are part of NIFC. Decisions are made using the interagency cooperation concept because NIFC has no single director or manager." Go to the "Fire Information" section to locate reports and statistics.
U.S. Fire Administration - Data, Publications & Library "The U.S. Fire Administration (USFA) collects data from a variety of sources to provide information and analyses on the status and scope of the fire problem in the United States."

Federal Statistics - Variety of Topics

Data.gov Home of the government's open data. Search with keywords or browse by subject.

Health

Centers for Disease Control Data & Statistics Provides data by topic and tools that allow you to customize data tables and search data sets.
CDC National Center for Health Statistics Part of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC), this group compiles research and statistical information to help identify disparities in health care status and use, monitor trends, and evaluate the impact and cost effectiveness of programs.

Safety & Security

CIA Freedom of Information Act Electronic Reading Room "The FOIA Electronic Reading Room is provided as a public service by the Office of the Chief Information Officer's Information Management Services. ... Here you can view documents released through the FOIA and other CIA release programs."
FBI - Reports & Publications A variety of reports from the FBI, including a variety of types of fraud, theft, and crime.
FBI - Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program "The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program has been the starting place for law enforcement executives, students of criminal justice, researchers, members of the media, and the public at large seeking information on crime in the nation. The program was conceived in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet the need for reliable uniform crime statistics for the nation. In 1930, the FBI was tasked with collecting, publishing, and archiving those statistics."
Bureau of Justice Statistics The Bureau of Justice Statistics is "the United States' primary source for criminal justice statistics" with a mission "to collect, analyze, publish, and disseminate information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government. These data are critical to federal, state, and local policymakers in combating crime and ensuring that justice is both efficient and evenhanded."

Transportation

Bureau of Transportation Statistics "BTS is a leading source of timely, accurate, and reliable information on the U.S. transportation systems used for moving people and goods, and on their impacts on the economy, society and the environment."
Federal Aviation Administration - Data & Research "The FAA conducts research to ensure that commercial and general aviation is the safest in the world. [Here] you will find information about how the research is done, the resulting data and statistics, and information on funding and grant data."

The following sites provide data, statistics, and information at an international level.

CIA World Factbook Provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for world entities.
International Monetary Fund: World Economic Outlook Reports "A Survey by the IMF staff usually published twice a year. It presents IMF staff economists' analyses of global economic developments during the near and medium term."
U.S. Census Bureau: International Programs "The U.S. Census Bureau conducts demographic, economic, and geographic studies of other countries and strengthens statistical development around the world through technical assistance, training, and software products. For over 60 years, the Census Bureau has performed international analytical work and assisted in the collection, processing, analysis, dissemination, and use of statistics with counterpart governments in over 100 countries."
UNData Use to find international information on Agriculture, Crime, Education, Employment, Energy, Environment, Health, HIV/AIDS, Human Development, Industry, Information and Communication Technology, National Accounts, Population, Refugees, Tourism, Trade. Provided by the United Nations Statistics Division.
United Nations Demographic Yearbook "The United Nations Demographic Yearbook collects, compiles and disseminates official statistics on a wide range of topics. Data have been collected from national statistical authorities since 1948 through a set of questionnaires dispatched annually by the United Nations Statistics Division to over 230 national statistical offices."
United Nations Statistical Yearbook "The Statistical Yearbook provides in a single volume a comprehensive compilation of internationally available statistics on social and economic conditions and activities, at world, regional and national levels, for an appropriate historical period."
United Nations World Economic and Social Survey "The World Economic and Social Survey focuses on specific medium- to long-term development challenges. Since 2005, the Survey has devoted itself entirely to specific themes of topical interest related to development. It provides objective analyses of pressing long-term social and economic development issues and discusses the positive and negative impact of corresponding policy prescriptions."
United Nations World Economic Situation and Prospects "A joint product of the United Nations Department of Economic and Social Affairs (UN/DESA), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD) and the five United Nations regional commissions. Provides an overview of recent global economic performance and short-term prospects for the world economy and of some key global economic policy and development issues."

The following sites provide data, statistics, and information from non-governmental sources, such as non-profits and other organizations.

Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED) "The Centre for Research on the Epidemiology of Disasters (CRED) has been active for over 40 years in the fields of international disaster and conflict health studies, with activities linking relief, rehabilitation and development. The Centre promotes research, training and technical expertise on humanitarian emergencies, particularly in public health and epidemiology."
Disaster Research Center (University of Delaware) "The Disaster Research Center is committed to advancing the state of the art in disaster research and its scientifically guided practice; educating the next generation of disaster science scholars and informed practitioners in the fields of disaster mitigation, preparedness, response and recovery; and creating, gathering, and disseminating disaster knowledge in a dynamic and responsive way." This link goes to the collection of DRC documents at the University of Delaware Library. For more information about DRC, go here: https://www.drc.udel.edu/.
Federation of American Scientists "The Federation of American Scientists (FAS) provides science-based analysis of and solutions to protect against catastrophic threats to national and international security. Specifically, FAS works to reduce the spread and number of nuclear weapons, prevent nuclear and radiological terrorism, promote high standards for nuclear energy’s safety and security, illuminate government secrecy practices, as well as prevent the use of biological and chemical weapons."
The Geneva Association - Research Topics "The Geneva Association aims to be the primary forum for research and analysis on global strategic insurance and risk management issues." Research topics include: financial stability and regulation, extreme events and climate risk, global ageing, cyber and innovation, and the protection gap.
National Fire Protection Association - Fire Statistics & Reports "The National Fire Protection Association (NFPA) is a global nonprofit organization, established in 1896, devoted to eliminating death, injury, property and economic loss due to fire, electrical and related hazards." "To keep you in the know, NFPA produces dozens of reports every year on the overall fire problem, firefighter fatalities and injuries, major fire causes, fire protection systems, and many other topics. We also work with organizations around the world to investigate new technologies and document the performance of fire- and building-related products."
World Disasters Report [International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies] "The World Disasters Report is about people and disasters. It is about those vulnerable people who are most likely to be affected by disasters and the local institutions which provide the mainstay of disaster prevention, preparedness and relief. The first edition appeared in 1993." From the International Federation of Red Cross and Red Crescent Societies.

The following agencies provide information, support, reports, and more related to homeland security and emergency management.

Federal Agencies, Bureaus, and Offices

International Agencies

Homeland Security & Emergency Management: Finding Government Reports & Data

About Online Reports & Data

Need Help?

Sources for Online Data, Statistics, & Reports