LibGuides: Theatre: Plays, Monologues, and Vocal Scores

Websites

INTER-PLAY: Can't find a particular short play? INTER-PLAY can help you locate plays that are included within anthologies. Note that this FREE product hasn't been updated since 2013.
Playdatabase.com: This database, created by actors, can be used to find plays and monologues using multiple criteria such as author, title, number of characters, runtime, genre, time period, and more. While this source does not have full text, it does provide royalty information. Use this source with Inter-Play (above), to find monologues and plays in anthologies.
Monologue Archive: A collection of freely available monologues, taken from classic plays. This collection is organized by gender, age and genre.
The Monologue Database: A free collection of monologues from movies and plays. Users can search by gender, genre, author, actor, film, play or role.

Play Anthologies

Gendering Taboos: 10 Short Plays by African Women by 'Tosin Kooshima Tume (Editor); Ekua Ekumah (Editor); Yvette Hutchison (Editor)
Call Number: PR9347.G46 2024
ISBN: 9781350407978
Publication Date: 2024
To the Good People of Gaza: Theatre for Young People by Jackie Lubeck
Call Number: PR9570 .P343 L83 2022
ISBN: 9781350261815
Publication Date: 2022
A Dictionary of Emotions in a Time of War by John Freedman (Edited and Translated by, Compiled by, Introduction by, Introductions and notes by); John Farndon (Translator); Natalia Bratus (Translator); Evgenia Kovryga (Translator); Maksym Kurochkin; Natalka Vorozhbyt
Call Number: PG3986.E5 D53 2023
ISBN: 9781942281337
Publication Date: 2023
Restless Spirits: Plays by William S. Yellow Robe; Jace Weaver (Editor); Hanay Geiogamah (Foreword by)
Call Number: PS3575.E46 A6 2020
ISBN: 9781438478647
Publication Date: 2020
The Methuen Drama Book of Trans Plays by Azure D. Osborne-Lee; Ty Defoe; M. J. Kaufman; Raphaël Amahl Khouri; J. Chavez; Sharifa Yasmin; Mashuq Mushtaq Deen; Leanna Keyes (Editor); Lindsey Mantoan (Editor); Angela Farr Schiller (Editor)
Call Number: PS628.M56 M48 2021
ISBN: 9781350179219
Publication Date: 2021
The Methuen Drama Anthology of American Women Playwrights: 1970 - 2020 by Wesley Brown (Editor); Aimée K. Michel (Editor); Susan Yankowitz (Contribution by); Ntozake Shange (Contribution by); Beth Henley (Contribution by); Paula Vogel (Contribution by); Suzan-Lori Parks (Contribution by); Lynn Nottage (Contribution by)
Call Number: PS628.W6 M48 2020
ISBN: 9781350068728
Publication Date: 2020
Selected Plays by Griselda Gambaro by Griselda Gambaro; Gwen MacKeith (Translator)
Call Number: PQ7797.G253 A613 2022
ISBN: 9781350233638
Publication Date: 2022
Coastal Disturbances by Tina Howe
Call Number: PS3558.O894 C6 1989
ISBN: 9780930452865
Publication Date: 1989
Nine Irish Plays for Voices by Eamon Grennan
Call Number: PR6057.R398 N56 2023
ISBN: 9781531502546
Publication Date: 2023

Vocal Scores

A Strange Loop: Vocal Selections - Music and Lyrics by Michael R. Jackson by Michael R. Jackson (Composed by)
Call Number: OVERSIZE M1507.J147 S77 2022
ISBN: 9781705172902
Publication Date: 2022
The Singer's Musical Theatre Anthology - Volume 2 by Richard Walters
Call Number: OVERSIZE M1507.S621 1993 V.2 Baritone
ISBN: 9780793523320
Publication Date: 1993
Natasha, Pierre and the Great Comet Of 1812 by Dave Malloy
Call Number: OVERSIZE M1508.M35|bN38 2017
ISBN: 9781495091261
Publication Date: 2017
American Idiot by Tom Kitt (Composed by); Green Day Staff (Composed by, Other Primary Creator)
Call Number: M1503.G82 A64 2014
ISBN: 9780739070369
Publication Date: 2014
A Gentleman's Guide to Love and Murder by Robert L. Freedman; Steven Lutvak (Composed by)
Call Number: OVERSIZE M1508.G37 L88 2014
ISBN: 9781480382961
Publication Date: 2014
Caroline, or Change by Jeanine Tesori (Composed by)
Call Number: OVERSIZE M1508.T58 C3 2012
ISBN: 9781603787888
Publication Date: 2012

Monologues

Shakespeare's Other Women by Scott Kaiser
Call Number: PS3611.A36 S53 2017
ISBN: 9781977712332
Publication Date: 2017
The Oberon Book of Queer Monologues by Scottee (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080 O224 2018
ISBN: 9781786823472
Publication Date: 2018
Contemporary Monologues for Women: Volume 2 by Trilby James (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080.C664 2020
ISBN: 9781848429727
Publication Date: 2021
30 Monologues and Duologues for South Asian Actors by Kali Theatre (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080.T45 2021
ISBN: 9781350203891
Publication Date: 2021
Contemporary Monologues for Men: Volume 2 by Trilby James (Editor)
Call Number: PN2080.C666 2020
ISBN: 9781848429734
Publication Date: 2020
My White Best Friend by Rachel De-Lahay (Editor)
Call Number: PR1246.B53 M928 2020
ISBN: 9781786829016
Publication Date: 2020

Plays

The Dilemma of a Ghost and Anowa 2nd Edition by Ama Ata Aidoo
Call Number: PR9379.9.A35 D54 1995
ISBN: 9780582276024
Publication Date: 1995
Where Women Go by Tina Howe
Call Number: PS3558.O894 W44 2023
ISBN: 9780573710391
Publication Date: 2023
The Banshees of Inisherin by Martin McDonagh
Call Number: PR6063 .C377 B36 2022
ISBN: 9780571381708
Publication Date: 2023
Kimberly Akimbo by David Lindsay-Abaire; Jeanine Tesori (Composed by)
Call Number: ML50.L7425 K56 2023
ISBN: 9781636701783
Publication Date: 2023
Leopoldstadt by Tom Stoppard
Call Number: PR6069.T6 L46 2020
ISBN: 9780802157713
Publication Date: 2020
American Moor by Keith Hamilton Cobb
Call Number: PS3603.O22535 A44 2020
ISBN: 9781350165304
Publication Date: 2020
Heroes of the Fourth Turning by Will Arbery
Call Number: PS3601.R358 H47 2023
ISBN: 9781559369886
Publication Date: 2023
Fat Ham by James Ijames
Call Number: PS3609.J36 F38 2023
ISBN: 9781636701684
Publication Date: 2023