LibGuides: Using Information Responsibly: Polls & Statistics

Public Opinion Polls

Pew Research Center
Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. It conducts public opinion polling, demographic research, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. Pew Research does not take policy positions. It is a subsidiary of The Pew Charitable Trusts.

Roper Center Archives - iPOLL This link opens in a new window Subjects:Business, Communication, Media, Persuasion, Political Science, Sociology, Social Work, Criminal Justice, Speech, Women's Studies, Public Health May require you to enter a password Funded by ISU Libraries

Bureau of Justice Statistics
This US Department of Justice Web site has statistics and statistical abstracts on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, law enforcement, and courts & sentencing.
US Census Bureau
The Census Bureau Web site offers a huge amount of statistical data about the United States and its citizens. It includes statistics on employment, health, education, and more.
Uniform Crime Reports
Provides collected crime statistics for the United States including "Crime in the United States", "Hate Crime Statistics", and "Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted".

A - Z Index of U.S. Government Departments and Agencies
Find links to departments, agencies, state governments, and other boards, commissions, and committees.
Branches of Government
Learn more about the executive, legislative, and judicial branches of the U.S. government.
Core Documents of U.S. Democracy
This collection provides American citizens with direct online access to the basic Federal Government documents that define our democratic society.

FDSys This link opens in a new window Subjects: Government, History, Law, Legislation, Political Science Funded by US Government

Federal Executive Branch
The president is the head of the executive branch of the government, which includes many departments and agencies.
Federal Judicial Branch
The judicial branch is made up of the Supreme Court, Lower Courts, Special Courts, and court support organizations.
Federal Legislative Branch
The legislative branch is the law making branch of government made up of the Senate, the House of Representatives, and agencies that support Congress.
Indian Affairs: Laws and Treaties
Covers U.S. Government treaties with Native Americans from 1778-1883 (Volume II) and U.S. laws and executive orders concerning Native Americans from 1871-1971. Also known as Kappler’s Indian affairs : Laws and Treaties.
more...less...
Freely available online
THOMAS
In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress. THOMAS provides access to the following: Bills, Resolutions, Activity in Congress, Congressional Record, Schedules, Calendars, Committee Information, Presidential Nominations, Treaties, and Government Resources.
more...less...
Unrestricted access
USA.gov
The US Government's Official Web Portal.
Government made easy.
Search the government.
White House
Find out what the U.S. president's administration is doing, including concerns about current issues, news, and policies. Links to the different offices of the president's administration can be found, such as the president, vice president, cabinet, executive office, first lady, and White House staff.