Skip to Main Content

Confronting Violence/Enfrentando La Violencia : Exhibition Resources: Home

This guide is a supplement to ISU Libraries' hosting of the NLM exhibition: Confronting Violence/Enfrentando La Violencia.

Get Help

If you are experiencing domestic or intimate partner violence, there are local and national resources that can help.

National Domestic Violence Hotline
Call (800) 799-SAFE (7233)
Text "START" to 88788
Idaho Council on Domestic Violence and Victim Assistance
Idaho Domestic Violence Hotline (800) 669-3176
Idaho State University: Title IX Office

Requesting Books

Did you know that distance students can request books from the Pocatello Library? The process is easy and almost always free to you! Visit the Request ISU Materials page to learn more.

About the Exhibition

This exhibition tells the story about nurses working to reform a medical profession that failed to acknowledge domestic violence as a health issue and not a legal matter. Beginning in the late 1970s, these nurses were in the vanguard as they pushed the larger medical community to identify victims, adequately respond to their needs, and work towards the prevention of domestic violence.

The National Library of Medicine produced this exhibition and its companion website. Guest curator: Catherine Jacquet, PhD.

Confronting Violence: Improving Women's Lives Digital Exhibition Companion Website

Visit the Exhibition

The exhibition will be available for viewing at the following ISU locations:

ISU Meridian Sam and Aline Skaggs Health Science Center, January 8th - February 2nd, 2024
ISU Pocatello Campus
- Rendezvous Hall, February 6th - 17th, 2024
- Beckley Hall, February 18th - 24th, 2024

Idaho State University Libraries Collections

Sexual Assault Kits and Reforming the Response to Rape

HV6558.S492 2023 (Main Collection)

Violence and Aggression: Integrating Theory, Research, and Practice

BF575.A3S78 2022 (Main Collection)

Psychotherapy with Survivors of Sexual Violence

eBook

Where Does Violence Come From?

eBook

Things We Haven't Said: Stories of Abuse and Recovery

eBook

Violence Against Women: What Everyone Needs to Know

HV6250.4 .W65 T784 2021 (Main Collection)

Domestic Violence in Health Contexts: a Guide for Healthcare Professions

eBook

Resistance: Righteous Rage in the Age of #MeToo

PR9195.3 .R47 2021 (Main Collection)

LGBTQ Intimate Partner Violence: Lessons for Policy, Practice, and Research

HV6626 .M475 2017 (Main Collection)

The Intersection Between Intimate Partner Abuse, Technology, and Cybercrime

HV6626 .I5825 2016 (Main Collection)

Intimate Partner Violence: An Evidence-Based Approach

RC569.5.F3I58 2021 (Main Collection)

Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy

HV6250.4 .W65 B869 2022 (Main Collection)

Perpetrators of Intimate Partner Sexual Violence

HV6626 .P4585 2017 (Main Collection)

Courage, Resistance, and Women in Ciudad Juárez

HN120.C48 S73 2015 (Main Collection)

Domestic Violence and Psychology: Critical Perspectives on Intimate Partner Violence and Abuse

eBook

Violence Against Women in Peace and War: Cases from the Middle East

HV6250.4 .W65 H647 2021 (Main Collection)

Globalization and Its Impact on Violence Against Vulnerable Groups

eBook

Global Perspectives on Violence Against Women and Girls

HV6250.4 .W65 B81 2020 (Main Collection)

Sex and International Tribunals: The Erasure of Gender from the War Narrative

KZ7162 .M53 2013 (Main Collection)

Genocide and Gender in the Twentieth Century

HV6322.7 .G4475 2015 (Main Collection)

Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Law

eBook

Human Trafficking: Women's Stories of Agency

HQ281 .D43 2016 (Main Collection)

Gender-Based Violence and Public Health: International Perspectives on Budgets and Policies

RA418 .G46 2013 (Main Collection and ISU Meridian Library)

Applying Anthropology to Gender-Based Violence: Global Responses, Local Practices

GN495.2 .A77 2015 (Main Collection)

In a Day's Work: The Fight to End Sexual Violence Against America's Most Vulnerable Workers

HD6060.5.U5 Y48 2018 (Popular Reading)

Abetting Batterers: What Police, Prosecutors, and Courts Aren't Doing to Protect America's Women

HV6626.2 .K5947 2016 (Main Collection)

Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives

HV6250.4.G57 V558 2013 (2 volumes, Main Collection)

Sex, Shame, and Violence: A Revolutionary Practice of Public Storytelling in Poor Communities

RA418.5.P6 C375 2016 (Main Collection)

Women and Violence: The Agency of Victims and Perpetrators

HV6250.4.W65 M3346 2015 (Main Collection)

Narratives of Domestic Violence: Policing, Identity, and Indexicality

HV6626 .A63 2021 (Main Collection)

Peaceful Families: American Muslim Efforts Against Domestic Violence

HN40 .M6 H347 2019 (Main Collection)

The Routledge International Handbook of Domestic Violence and Abuse

HV6626 .R69 2021 (Main Collection)

Domestic Violence in Diverse Contexts: A Re-examination of Gender

RC569.5.F3 W46 2015 (Main Collection)

Preventing Sexual Harm: Positive Criminology and Sexual Abuse

HV6556.K49 2021 (Main Collection)

#MeToo and Beyond

eBook

Aftermath: Violence and the Remaking of a Self

eBook

Dance/Movement Therapy and Sexual Abuse

eBook

Dynamics of Family and Intimate Partner Violence

HV6626.F75 2020 (Main Collection)

Sexual Assault Kits and Reforming the Response to Rape

HV6558.S492 2023 (Main Collection)

Violence and Aggression: Integrating Theory, Research, and Practice

BF575.A3S78 2022 (Main Collection)

Psychotherapy with Survivors of Sexual Violence

eBook

Where Does Violence Come From?

eBook

Things We Haven't Said: Stories of Abuse and Recovery

eBook

Violence Against Women: What Everyone Needs to Know

HV6250.4 .W65 T784 2021 (Main Collection)

Domestic Violence in Health Contexts: a Guide for Healthcare Professions

eBook

Resistance: Righteous Rage in the Age of #MeToo

PR9195.3 .R47 2021 (Main Collection)

LGBTQ Intimate Partner Violence: Lessons for Policy, Practice, and Research

HV6626 .M475 2017 (Main Collection)

The Intersection Between Intimate Partner Abuse, Technology, and Cybercrime

HV6626 .I5825 2016 (Main Collection)

Intimate Partner Violence: An Evidence-Based Approach

RC569.5.F3I58 2021 (Main Collection)

Gender Violence: Resistance, Resilience, and Autonomy

HV6250.4 .W65 B869 2022 (Main Collection)

Perpetrators of Intimate Partner Sexual Violence

HV6626 .P4585 2017 (Main Collection)

Courage, Resistance, and Women in Ciudad Juárez

HN120.C48 S73 2015 (Main Collection)

Domestic Violence and Psychology: Critical Perspectives on Intimate Partner Violence and Abuse

eBook

Violence Against Women in Peace and War: Cases from the Middle East

HV6250.4 .W65 H647 2021 (Main Collection)

Globalization and Its Impact on Violence Against Vulnerable Groups

eBook

Global Perspectives on Violence Against Women and Girls

HV6250.4 .W65 B81 2020 (Main Collection)

Sex and International Tribunals: The Erasure of Gender from the War Narrative

KZ7162 .M53 2013 (Main Collection)

Genocide and Gender in the Twentieth Century

HV6322.7 .G4475 2015 (Main Collection)

Women, Intimate Partner Violence, and the Law

eBook

Human Trafficking: Women's Stories of Agency

HQ281 .D43 2016 (Main Collection)

Gender-Based Violence and Public Health: International Perspectives on Budgets and Policies

RA418 .G46 2013 (Main Collection and ISU Meridian Library)

Applying Anthropology to Gender-Based Violence: Global Responses, Local Practices

GN495.2 .A77 2015 (Main Collection)

In a Day's Work: The Fight to End Sexual Violence Against America's Most Vulnerable Workers

HD6060.5.U5 Y48 2018 (Popular Reading)

Abetting Batterers: What Police, Prosecutors, and Courts Aren't Doing to Protect America's Women

HV6626.2 .K5947 2016 (Main Collection)

Violence Against Girls and Women: International Perspectives

HV6250.4.G57 V558 2013 (2 volumes, Main Collection)

Sex, Shame, and Violence: A Revolutionary Practice of Public Storytelling in Poor Communities

RA418.5.P6 C375 2016 (Main Collection)

Women and Violence: The Agency of Victims and Perpetrators

HV6250.4.W65 M3346 2015 (Main Collection)

Narratives of Domestic Violence: Policing, Identity, and Indexicality

HV6626 .A63 2021 (Main Collection)

Peaceful Families: American Muslim Efforts Against Domestic Violence

HN40 .M6 H347 2019 (Main Collection)

The Routledge International Handbook of Domestic Violence and Abuse

HV6626 .R69 2021 (Main Collection)

Domestic Violence in Diverse Contexts: A Re-examination of Gender

RC569.5.F3 W46 2015 (Main Collection)

Preventing Sexual Harm: Positive Criminology and Sexual Abuse

HV6556.K49 2021 (Main Collection)

#MeToo and Beyond

eBook

Aftermath: Violence and the Remaking of a Self

eBook

Dance/Movement Therapy and Sexual Abuse

eBook

Dynamics of Family and Intimate Partner Violence

HV6626.F75 2020 (Main Collection)

Sexual Assault Kits and Reforming the Response to Rape

HV6558.S492 2023 (Main Collection)

Violence and Aggression: Integrating Theory, Research, and Practice

BF575.A3S78 2022 (Main Collection)

Psychotherapy with Survivors of Sexual Violence

eBook

Where Does Violence Come From?

eBook

Things We Haven't Said: Stories of Abuse and Recovery

eBook

Background Resources on Domestic and Intimate Partner Violence

Fast Facts: Preventing Intimate Partner Violence
Background information and statistics about intimate partner violence from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention
Domestic Violence
Definitions and examples of abusive behaviors from the U.S. Department of Justice Office on Violence Against Women
Intimate Partner Violence
Medline Plus resources on identifying and responding to intimate partner violence

Get Online Access Support • Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources