The Library has a number of books and e-books related to your field. You can search by title, subject or author using the search box above.
The Library orders online books through several different sources. Browse categories or search for specific titles by looking through the links below.
Did you know that distance students can order books from the Pocatello Library? The process is easy and almost always free to you! Visit the Distance Students tab above to learn more.
Archetypes and Motifs in Folklore and Literature (Reference Collection: GR 72.56 A 73 2005): Thorough articles on major recurring archetypes (characters) and motifs (objects, events, symbols, etc.) in folklore and literature. Indexed.
The Complete Dictionary of Symbols (Reference Collection: AZ108 .T74 2005): Brief discussions of the use of animals, plants, astronomical objects, religious and mythological figures, and other symbols in art, literature and folklore.
Dictionary of Mythology, Folklore and Symbols (Reference Collection: GR35 .J6 1962): Defines characters, animals, objects, and symbols that recur in folklore and mythology.
Motif-Index of Folk-Literature: (Reference Collection: GR67.T52): This six-part motif index lists plot events, characters, and symbols that recur in fairy tales and folklore around the world, as well as fairy tale and folk tale collections where they can be found.
Storytelling Encyclopedia (Reference Collection: GR72 .S76 1997): Articles on folklorists, recurring characters, themes and events, and important concepts in folk tale collection and study. Indexed.
Tale Type- and Motif-Indexes (Reference Collection: GR74.6 .A98 1987): Annotated bibliography lists motif-index and similar resources.
Types of the Folktale in the Arab World (Reference Collection: GR268.A73 E42 2004): Arab and Middle Eastern folk tales.
Anthropological Literature OnDisc.
Indexes articles and essays in all areas of anthropology and archaeology. Updated yearly. This resource is available in the Reference Collection; its call number is GR67.T52. The next most recent is at the Circulation Desk on Reserve. It can be checked out overnight. The older editions are located in the general stacks and can be checked out like a book.
Motif-index of Folk Literature on CD-ROM.
The Motif-Index of Folk Literature on CD-ROM is an electronic version of the revised edition of Stith Thompson's Motif-Index of Folk-Literature: A Classification of Narrative Elements in Folktales, Ballads, Myths, Fables, Mediaeval Romances, Exempla, Fabliaux, Jest-Books, and Local Legends. A print version of this resource is available in the Reference Collection; its call number is GR67.T52.