The Library has a number of books and e-books related to your field. You can search by title, subject or author using the search box above.
The Library orders online books through several different sources. Browse categories or search for specific titles by looking through the links below.
Did you know that distance students can order books from the Pocatello Library? The process is easy and almost always free to you!
American Jurisprudence (Law Library: KF154 .A42): A definitive resource for legal topics. Final print version for the law library is 2007. It is also available in a more current form on Nexis Uni and Westlaw.
Black's Law Dictionary (Reference Desk: KF 156.B 53 2014): This dictionary gives short, easy to understand definitions of legal terms. Earlier editions are available in the Reference, Law, Idaho Falls, and Main collections.
Bieber's dictionary of legal abbreviations : a reference guide for attorneys, legal secretaries, paralegals, and law students (Reference Desk: KF 246.B46 2001): This dictionary lists abbreviations and their definitions.
Gale encyclopedia of American law ebook,
Prince's Dictionary of Legal Citations: a reference guide for attorneys, legal secretaries, paralegals, and law students (Law Library: KF246 .P73 2006).
West's Encyclopedia of American Law (Reference Desk KF154 .W47 2005): Comprehensive legal encyclopedia, this is a useful place to start a new research project.
Legal Research: How to Find & Understand the Law (Law Library: KF 240.E 35 2004): This book contains tips and strategies for students and researchers who want to conduct legal research. It contains help for finding laws, ordinances and case law, how to use resources like Shepard's, how to use the Internet to conduct legal research, and how to prepare legal memorandas.
Legal Research in a Nutshell (Reference Desk: KF240 .C54 2007): Easy to use and understand primer on legal research.
Legal Research Made Easy (Reference Desk: KF 240.H 47 2002): This book contains tips and strategies for students and researchers who want to conduct legal research, but aren't sure where to start. It contains help for finding laws, legal rights, how to use resources like Shepard's and American Law Reports, tips for using legal databases like Westlaw and Nexis Uni, and more.
Code of Federal Regulations (Law Library: AE 2.106/3:1/ to AE 2.106/3:50/): These volumes contain federal statutes. Nexis Uni can be used to search for specific laws.
Historic U.S. Court Cases, 1690-1990: An Encyclopedia (Law Library: KF385.A4 J64 1992): This resource covers important state, federal, and constitutional cases by topic. This source is indexed.
Idaho Code (Law Library: KFI30 1947 .A2): These volumes contain the statutes for the state of Idaho. An annotated version of the Idaho Code is also available (Law Library: KFI31 .A19). An online version of the Idaho Code is available on the State of Idaho Web site, Idaho Statutes. Nexis Uni can be used to search for specific laws.
Shepard's Acts and Cases by Popular Names (Reference Desk: KF80 .S5): Shepard's is designed to help students and researchers find cases and laws by listing acts and cases by their popular names, followed by their citations in federal and state statutes.
West's Analysis of American Law (Reference Desk: KF 240.W 454 2005): This resource contains West's key to American law, which can be used to find particular sections of American law in West's books and databases. It includes brief explanations of the category.
Encyclopedia of the American Constitution (Law Library: KF4548 .E53 2000): These volumes contain in depth articles on important people, concepts, and cases in American Constitutional Law. This source is indexed.
State Constitutions of the United States (Law Library: KF 4530.M 33 1998): This volume contains the text for all 50 state governments and the three U.S. territories (American Samoa, Northern Mariana Islands, and Puerto Rico). Also included is introductory material to state governments and their constitutions. This source is indexed.