Best Bets for Research
- PubMed This link opens in a new window PubMed is an excellent place to start searching. It is the largest database of medical literature, funded by the National Library of Medicine. PubMed is free, but use this link to ensure "Find it at ISU" full text access buttons appear in your search results.
- CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window CINAHL is a large database of scholarly literature related to nursing and "allied health" professions. The ISU Library subscribes to this database, and many articles are available in full text.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Google Scholar is a massive database of scholarly articles found on the web. Take care to evaluate the articles you find in Scholar to make sure they are high-quality and appropriate to use in your research. Google Scholar can also help you "citation mine" good articles by finding later-published papers that include your paper of interest in their reference lists.
- ClinicalKey This link opens in a new window ClinicalKey is a great resource for scholarly literature, but it also has a great collection of online textbooks and reference works. This is an ISU library subscription database.
- Dissertations and Theses, Proquest This link opens in a new window ProQuest Dissertations and Theses is the largest collection of these types of documents. Useful for finding in-depth information about graduate research projects, including methodology and validated instruments. This is an ISU Library subscription database.
- UpToDate This link opens in a new window UpToDate is a clinical point-of-care tool that will allow you to quickly find reference information on common medical conditions, including recommended treatment guidelines. This is an ISU subscription database. You must register for a free account on first use.
MLS at ISU
New MLS Books at the ISU Library
Whole slide imaging : current applications and future directions by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030833329Publication Date: 2022Access restricted to one ISU user at a time
Williams Hematology, 10th Edition by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781260464122Publication Date: 2021-03-17
Graff's textbook of urinalysis and body fluids by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781284243369Publication Date: 2020Access restricted to one ISU user at a time
Welcome!
This guide serves as a starting point for Medical Laboratory Science students, faculty, and staff who are using the ISU Library. Click on the tabs above to discover books, journal articles, databases, and other resources to help you with your research.
Library Locations
Eli M. Oboler Library
850 South 9th Avenue
Pocatello, Idaho 83209-8089
Phone: (208) 282-2958
ISU Library - Idaho Falls
1776 Science Center Drive, Room 250
Idaho Falls, ID 83402
Phone: (208) 282-7906
ISU Library - Meridian
1311 E. Central Drive, Room 844
Meridian, ID 83642
Phone: (208) 373-1817
Your ISU Librarian
Health Sciences Librarian - Meridian
Kimberly Miller
She/Her
Contact:
ISU Library - Meridian
(208) 373-1817
Subjects: Audiology, Communication, Sciences and Disorders, Counseling, Emergency Services, Health Care Admininstration, Health Sciences, IHSL, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Nutrition and Dietetics, Occupational Therapy, Paramedic Science, Physical Therapy, Physician Assistant, Public Health, Sign Language Interpreting, Speech Language Pathology
Attribution
Portions of this guide used and built upon the MLS guide from the Jefferson College of Health Sciences Library.
Thank you to the guide creator, Carole Porter, for sharing the information.