Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 •
Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources
To find high quality articles, you need to start with high quality databases. The primary databases you should search are listed below.
Google Scholar Google Scholar pulls information from the same source as PubMed, but it can be easier to search. This is an ISU specific link which will require a log-in if you are off campus.
IPA (International Pharmaceutical Abstracts, OvidSP) The International Pharmaceutical Abstracts (IPA) database provides worldwide coverage of pharmacology, pharmacy and health related literature from 1970 to the present, and is updated monthly. IPA citations come from approximately 750 journals and all U.S. state pharmacy journals. IPA provides comprehensive information for drug therapy, toxicity, and pharmacy practice as well as legislation, regulation, technology, utilization, biopharmaceutics, information processing, education, economics, and ethics as related to pharmaceutical science and practice.
PubMed PubMed is THE database to search when looking for biomedical, nursing or allied health articles. The link above will require a log-in which will allow you to access the full text articles from journals the library subscribes to. See the video below for PubMed search tips.
Web of Science Subject: General
Funded by ISU Libraries
Can't Find What You Need? Request it!
Never, ever, ever, ever pay for an article while you are affiliated with ISU. You can request the article via interlibrary loan. There are two options- either use ILLiad or Loansome Doc.
This handout describes how to sign up and use ILLiad to request materials from other libraries.
How do I Find the Full Text of an Article?
Journals by Title
Did you find an article you'd like read, but don't know if the library owns the journal? Enter the journal title below to find the full text.
Search for Online Journals
Are you an instructor? Would like a librarian to teach your class to use these resources? We are happy to help! Visit the library Instructional Services page to learn more.