LibGuides: Speech Language Pathology: Find Articles

Searching for Articles

Writing a paper? Preparing a speech? Getting ready for a presentation? You need research articles! Look through the resources listed on this page for the best places to find articles related to your subject.

If you get stuck or need assistance, contact a librarian. We are here to help!

by eclecticlibrarian

Core Resources

Some of the most used databases for SLP research are included below. Be aware that speech language pathology can cover many different fields (medicine, linguistics, education, psychology), so searching several sources is a good bet. You can start with a general search in Google Scholar, or you can search in ALL the Ebsco databases at once.

CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology | Communication Sciences and Disorders | Counseling | Dance | Dental Hygiene | Nutrition and Dietetics | Education | Education of the Deaf | Emergency Services | Evidence Based Medicine | Health Care Administration | Health Sciences | Medical Laboratory Science | Nursing | Occupational Therapy | Paramedic Science | Pharmacy | Physical Education | Physical Therapy | Physician Assistant | Psychology | Public Health | Radiographic Science | Sign Language Interpreting | Social Work| Special Education | Speech Language Pathology | Sport Science Funded by ISU Libraries
PubMed This link opens in a new window See the "New Pubmed Tutorials" tab on this guide to learn more about how to search this resource.
ERIC This link opens in a new window ERIC indexes articles and monographs from more than 1,000 journals and more than 2,200 education digests on a variety of subjects. Topics include psychology, health, language and methods and techniques for teaching all subjects.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Counseling; Education; Education of the Deaf; Health Sciences; Languages, Occupational Therapy; Psychology; Sign Language Interpreting; Social Work; Special Education; Speech Language Pathology Funded by ISU Libraries
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: Advertising | Audiology | Business Writing | Communication Media and Persuasion | Communication Sciences & Disorders | Creative Writing | General, Multidisciplinary | Sign Language Interpreting | Speech Language Pathology | Technical Writing Funded by ISU Libraries
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Subjects: General Free
PsycInfo This link opens in a new window Subjects: Dance, Education, Psychology, Health Sciences Databases, Sports Science and Sports Education, Counseling, Dietetics, Health Care Admininstration, Health Education, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Public Health, Radiographic Science, Speech Language Pathology, Paramedic Science, Special Education Funded by ISU Libraries

Related Resources

AbleData
This is a database of assistive technology products. Categories include deaf and hard of hearing, aids for daily living and deaf-blind.

Cochrane Library This link opens in a new window
Dissertations and Theses, Proquest This link opens in a new window Subjects: General, Multidisciplinary | Business | Health Sciences | History | Literature and Literary Criticism | Political Science | Psychology | Sociology Funded by ISU Libraries
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: Education, Creative Writing, Business Writing, Technical Writing, Dance, Education, Health Education, Library Science, Literary Criticism, Speech Language Pathology, Sports Science, Sports Education Funded by ISU Libraries
ECRI Guidelines Trust This link opens in a new window Clinical Guidelines. Subjects: Psychology, Dietetics, Health Care Admininstration, Medical Laboratory Science, Nursing, Occupational Therapy, Physical Therapy, Physician Assistant Program, Public Health, Radiographic Science, Audiology, Evidence Based Nursing, Speech Language Pathology Previously funded by US Government Now provided for free by ECRI

NARIC's REHABDATA Literature Database
Produced by the National Rehabilitation Information Center, the leading literature database on disability and rehabilitation. The main file, 1993-present, describes over 12,000 documents covering physical, mental, and psychiatric disabilities, independent living, vocational rehabilitation, special education, assistive technology, law, employment, and other issues as they relate to people with disabilities.
SpeechBITE
A speech pathology database for best interventions and treatment efficacy.
more...less...
This resource is produced by the University of Sydney and Speech Pathology Australia, with additional organizational sponsors that provide free, web-based indexing and abstracting for speech pathology and communication disorder researchers.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window Subject: General Funded by ISU Libraries

Help! Where is the entire article?

Journals by Title

Did you find an article you'd like read, but don't know if the library owns the journal? Enter the journal title below to find the full text.

Is This Journal Peer-Reviewed?

Enter the journal title into the Ulrich's database and look to see if the word 'refereed' appears, or you see an icon of referee's uniform. These both mean that the journal IS peer-reviewed.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text? Don't despair! Learn how you can request the article from another library and how to use our ILLiad interlibrary loan system.

Request Training

Are you an instructor? Would like a librarian to teach your class to use these resources? We are happy to help! Visit the library Instructional Services page to learn more.