Skip to Main Content

Library Collection Review: Psychology and Counseling

Introduction

Thank you for your input on our collection review efforts. The review period for this area closes March 27, 2023. If you would like someone to follow-up with you on your feedback, please make sure to include your name and email address.

Reviewing Items

List for Review

These are lists of items from the Library of Congress "R" (Medicine) call number range that may be relevant to Psychology and/or Counseling and meet the following criteria:

  • Physical items located in the Oboler Library in Pocatello
  • No circulation 
  • Published in 2005 or earlier 

Directions

  1. In the Keep (Y/N) column, mark Y to indicate that you would like to keep the item in the collection. Items marked with an "N" or left blank will be removed from the collection.
  2. You may also use the Notes/Reasoning column to provide comments to support your recommendations.

Note: This list does not include items from other areas of the collection that may be relevant to Psychology and/or Counseling. This list only represents items that are located with the medical-related collection that have been recommended for withdrawal.

Review Tips

  • Consider using the filters to narrow down items by subject, date, author, or other category
  • Use keyword searching (CTRL + F) to search for specific terms, important historical figures, etc.
  • Provide enough feedback that the library can make informed decisions about the collection. For example, if an item has historical value, is a foundational work, aligns with current course or research needs, we'd like to hear it! 

Review Criteria

Criteria Description
Age Items published in or before 2005 are up for review
Subject Matter Items on the subject of counseling/psychology education, history, theorists and their significant published works, will be retained for as long as their content is relevant to the curriculum.
Circulation Statistics

Items that have not circulated are up for review. The number of circulations a book experiences may also affect whether an updated edition is added to the collection in the future.
Format

The Library will not generally collect or retain study guides, workbooks, consumables, spiral bound and pocket sized books unless specified by programs.

VHS tapes or audio cassettes will be withdrawn from the collection.
"Last Copy"

If the ISU Library holds the last remaining copy in LVIS-Libraries Very Interested in Sharing, i.e., an interlibrary loan cooperative group, then the item will be retained.

If the ISU Library holds the last copy among the National Library of Medicine's Regional Medical Libraries, a Librarian will determine whether or not the content remains relevant.  Relevant items will be retained, and irrelevant items, withdrawn. 
Physical Condition Books that are damaged may be withdrawn, updated, replaced or repaired .
Duplicates & Superseded  Duplicates or superseded editions may be removed upon Librarian discretion.
Get Online Access Support
• Eli M. Oboler Library • 850 S. 9th Avenue • Stop 8089 • Pocatello, Idaho, USA 83209 • Site Feedback - Library Webmaster
Licensing Restrictions for Use of Electronic Resources