LibGuides: Sign Language Interpreting: Find Articles

Sign Language and Interpreting Journals

American Annals of the Deaf
Online from 1886-Current; click the link, then expand the "Full Text Access" box to see options to access this journal
Sign Language Studies
Online from 2000-Current
Deafness & Education International
Online from 2004-Current (1 year delay)
The Journal of Deaf Studies and Deaf Education
Online from 1996-Current
International Journal of Interpreter Education
Open Access. Online from 2009-Current
Sign Language and Linguistics
Access provided for the full journal backfile through Jan 1, 2019.
Odyssey Magazine
Free online magazine from Gallaudet University. Online from 2010-Current
RID VIEWS Archive
A public archive of the discontinued VIEWS publication by the Registry of Interpreters for the Deaf. Online from 1965-Current
Journal of Interpreting Studies and Communication Equity
This is a new journal; the first issue is coming in 2019!
Signs of Mental Health
A quarterly newsletter from Alabama's Mental Health Interpreter Training Project, a program that is on the front line of training interpreters to help in mental health settings.

Searching for Articles

Writing a paper? Preparing a speech? Getting ready for a presentation? You need research articles! Look through the resources below for the best places to find articles related to your subject.

If you get stuck or need assistance, contact a librarian.

We are here to help!

by eclecticlibrarian

Try These Databases!

Northeastern University Center for Atypical Language Interpreting (CALI)
The Annotated Bibliography includes articles, books, presentations, and videos related to atypical language and relevant to CALI’s curriculum development. Each resource is summarized in ASL and English and includes direct links whenever possible.

Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology; Communication Sciences and Disorders; Counseling; Education; Education of the Deaf; Health Sciences; Languages, Occupational Therapy; Psychology; Sign Language Interpreting; Social Work; Special Education; Speech Language Pathology Funded by ISU Libraries
Communication & Mass Media Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: Advertising | Audiology | Business Writing | Communication Media and Persuasion | Communication Sciences & Disorders | Creative Writing | General, Multidisciplinary | Sign Language Interpreting | Speech Language Pathology | Technical Writing Funded by ISU Libraries
ERIC This link opens in a new window Subjects: Counseling, Dance, Education, Government, Library Science, Psychology, Speech, Speech Language Pathology, Sports Science, Sports Education Funded by ISU Libraries
Education Research Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: Education, Creative Writing, Business Writing, Technical Writing, Dance, Education, Health Education, Library Science, Literary Criticism, Speech Language Pathology, Sports Science, Sports Education Funded by ISU Libraries
Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: General, Multidisciplinary Funded by ISU Libraries
CINAHL Complete This link opens in a new window Subjects: Audiology | Communication Sciences and Disorders | Counseling | Dance | Dental Hygiene | Nutrition and Dietetics | Education | Education of the Deaf | Emergency Services | Evidence Based Medicine | Health Care Administration | Health Sciences | Medical Laboratory Science | Nursing | Occupational Therapy | Paramedic Science | Pharmacy | Physical Education | Physical Therapy | Physician Assistant | Psychology | Public Health | Radiographic Science | Sign Language Interpreting | Social Work| Special Education | Speech Language Pathology | Sport Science Funded by ISU Libraries
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window Subjects: General Free
PubMed This link opens in a new window Subjects: General Health Sciences. Funded by US Government

Journals by Title

Did you find an article you'd like read, but don't know if the library owns the journal? Enter the journal title below to find the full text.

Interlibrary Loan

Can't find the full text? Don't despair! Learn how you can request the article from another library and how to use our ILLiad interlibrary loan system.

Request Training

Are you an instructor? Would you like a librarian to teach your class to use these resources? We are happy to help! Visit the library Instructional Services page to learn more.