The Library has a number of books and e-books related to foreign languages. You can search by title, subject or author using the search box above.
The Library orders online books through several different sources. Browse categories or search for specific titles by looking through the links below.
Did you know that distance students can order books from the Pocatello Library? The process is easy and almost always free to you! Visit the Distance Students tab above to learn more.
Arabic
Dictionary of Iraqi Arabic: English-Arabic, Arabic-English (Reference Collection: PJ6826 .D53 2003)
Oxford English-Arabic dictionary of current usage (Reference Collection: PJ6640 O93)
Oxford Essential Arabic Dictionary: English-Arabic, Arabic-English (Reference Collection: PJ6640 .O94 2010)
Chinese
Han Ying tz'u tien = The Pinyin Chinese-English dictionary (Reference Collection PL1455 H338 1979)
Oxford Chinese dictionary: English-Chinese, Chinese-English (Reference Collection: PL1455 O94 2003)
Japanese
Japanese Character Dictionary With Compound Lookup via any Kanji (Reference Collection: PL 677.5 J 36 1989): Provides Roman alphabet transliterations and English definitions of kanji characters. All kanji are arranged according to their radicals. Includes guides for use and how to look-up different characters.
The Kanji Dictionary (Reference Collection: PL 679. S 68 1996): Provides Roman alphabet transliterations and English definitions of kanji characters. All kanji are arranged according to their radicals. A chart on the inside of the cover shows how the radicals are organized.
Kenkyusha's New Japanese-English Dictionary (Reference Collection: PL 679. K 4 1974): Translates thousands of Japanese words into English and includes pronunciations and Kanji and/or spellings in Japanese. All words are alphabetized according to their Roman alphabet transliterations.
Latin
Cassell's Latin Dictionary: Latin-English, English-Latin (Reference Collection: PA 2365. E 5 C 3 1977): Defines thousands of Latin words and provides Latin equivalents for English words.
A Latin Dictionary (Reference Collection: PA 2365. E 5 A 7 1879a): In addition to defining a number of Latin abbreviations, this dictionary provides very complete definitions of Latin words. There is no English-Latin section.
Russian
Dictionary of Exceptions to Rules of Russian Grammar (Reference Collection: PG 2640. S 27): Designed to help all levels of Russian students learn conjugations and declensions of irregular verbs and nouns in Russian. There are no indexes or tables of contents. Words are arranged alphabetically in the Cyrillic alphabet. Definitions of words include an explanation of their grammatical form.
The Oxford Russian Dictionary (Reference Collection: PG 2640. W 5 1993): Provides Russian equivalents for English words and defines thousands of Russian words. Russian words are not transliterated and are alphabetized in Cyrillic.
Shoshoni
Vocabulary of the Shoshone language (Main Book Collection: PM 2321.H5): The author of this list has transliterated hundreds of words of basic Shoshone, phonetically, in the Roman alphabet. This vocabulary also includes some elementary phrases.
Western Shoshoni Grammar (Main Book Collection: PM2321. C 78 1993): This book contains a series of articles on Shoshoni grammar, from basic sentence structure to conjugating verbs to pronunciation.