**The American Jurisprudence and Corpus Juris Secundum provide a historical summarization of American law under broad topics of law. They have comprehensive and technical in coverage with brief, alphabetically arranged treatises on legal topics. Points of law are summarized and legal authorities are cited. Both contain nearly the same information.
American Jurisprudence: a Modern Comprehensive Text Statement of American Law, State and Federal. 2nd ed. Rochester, NY: Lawyers Co-operative Pub.Co.1 1994.
(Law KF154 .A42) The Library copy of this title is no longer current but may provide basic information. Online access to the 2nd edition is available through Nexis Uni. (See instructions in next box to access this title online.)
Cited as Am. Jur., Am. Jur. 2d.
Similar in coverage to Corpus Juris Secundum with selected case references with greater emphasis on federal statutory laws. Access by topic or through the general index. Has index in each volume plus a general index for the set.
Corpus Juris Secundum: a Complete Restatement of the Entire American Law as Developed by All Reported Cases. St. Paul: Thomson/West -- The Library does not currently have access to this resource.
Cited as C.J.S.
Contains a restatement of the entire body of American case law (also some federal and state laws) in encyclopedic form. Has citations to reported cases as well as references to the National Reporter System. Access by topic or through the general index.
Encyclopedia of the American Judicial System: Studies of the Principal Institutions and Process of Law. New York: Scribner, 1987.
(Ref KF154 .E53 1987)
Collection of signed essays on American law and "the process that produces and utilizes legal precepts." Style varies from general to technical, but all serve as an introduction to the subjects. Includes index to author, topic and cases.
Historic U.S. Court Cases: An Encyclopedia. 2nd ed. NY: Routledge, 2001.
(Ref KF385 .A4 J64 2001)
Highlights major legal issues and concerns. Many cases deal with Supreme Court and others deal with lower federal courts or state courts.
Oxford Companion to American Law. New York: Oxford University Press, 2002
(Law KF154 .O96 2002)
Guide to development and current status of American law and also treats concepts.
West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Minneapolis: West Publishing, 2005. 13 vols. (Ref Desk KF 154 .W47 2005)
An older edition from 1998 can also be found in the Law Library. (Law KF154 W47 1998)
Source contains over 4000 entries covering persons and events. V.11 is an appendix. V. 12 is a dictionary & indexes (legal terms, table of cases cited, index by name, index by subject.) Updated by: American Law Yearbook (Law KF 154 .W472)
Gale encyclopedia of American law ebook
American Law Yearbook
(Law KF154 .W472)
The annual update to West's Encyclopedia of American Law. Minneapolis: West Publishing.
(Law KF154 W47 1998-2001)
1. From the main page of the database click on the menu dropdown next to the database name
2. From the list that opens, select “All Sources”
3. On the page that opens, in the “Search within Sources” search box Type American Jurisprudence and select American Jurisprudence 2nd (AMJUR) from the list of documents.
4. Click on the stack of lines (not stack of dots) to open the table of contents
