Case law is the published opinions of appellate judges that establish precedent and then build on what has been established to expand, modify, support, or overturn legal opinion. In some areas of the law, case law works in combination with legislation. In other areas, case law is the primary source for determining the current status of the law of the land.
If you want to find a Supreme Court case you can use WestLaw, Lexis, or Google Scholar. If you want to look at the case in a book, here is where you can find the books in the Library.
Official publication for U.S. Supreme Court opinions. Contains full text of opinions. Some early volumes of the Documents set have been filled in by commercially published sets.
v. 1-4, 9-105
Cases argued and decided in the Supreme Court of the United States. Lawyers' ed.
(LawDoc JU 6.8:) Cited as L.Ed.
v. 5-8
Reports of cases argued and adjudged in the Supreme Court of the United States
(LawDoc JU 6.8:) Cited as U.S.
v. 106-283
Supreme Court Reporter. St. Paul: West Publishing Co., 1882-
(LawDoc JU 6.8:) Cited as S.Ct. (Unofficial version of U.S. Reports.)
v. 284-
United States Reports. Washington: GPO.
(LawDoc JU 6.8:) Cited as U.S. Library Has Current Subscription (depository)
Cases Argued and Decided in the Supreme Court of the United States
Spine Title: U.S. Supreme Court Reports. Some volumes are "Extra annotated" edition.
(Law KF101 .A313) Cited as L.Ed.
Have v. 1-21, 23-95, 97-100 1790-1955
United States Supreme Court Reports. Lawyers' Edition. 2nd Series.
(Law KF101 .A317) Cited as L.Ed2d
Have Vol. 1-107 1956-1989
Supreme Court Reporter. St. Paul: West Publishing Co., 1882-
(Law KF101 .A322) Cited as S.Ct.
Have v.103-105 1982-1984
West's Supreme Court Reporter St. Paul : West Pub. Co., 1988-
(Law KF101 .A322) Cited as S.Ct.
Have Vol. 105A-130 1984-2010
United States Reports (Dallas) (1-4, 1789-1800)
Cited as Dall.
Cranch's United States Supreme Court Reports (5-13 U.S.)
Cited as Cranch (US)
Wheaton's United States Reports (14-15) (1816-1827)
Cited as W., Wh., Wheat., Wheaton
Peters Condensed Reports, U.S. Supreme Court (26-41 US)
Cited as Pet. S.C., Peters, P.S.C.U.S.
Howard, United States Reports (42-65 U.S.) (1843-1860)
Cited as Howard Rep.
Wallace Reports (68-93 U.S. 1863-74)
Cited as Wall., Wall. Rep., Wall. S.C.
Harvard Law Review.
(K8 A69, Periodicals, have v. 15, 1902- ) Library Has Current Subscription
Monthly. Nov. issue gives a review of U.S. Supreme Court's term ending the previous June.
Justices of the United States Supreme Court, 1789-1969, Their Lives and Major Opinions. NY: Chelsea, 1969-78.
(Ref and Main KF8744 .F75)
Biographical essays with a historical appraisal of the person and his life in law.
Landmark Supreme Court Cases: A Reference Guide, by Donald E. Lively. Westport CN: Greenwood Press, 1999.
(Ref KF4549 .L58 1999)
Has a discussion of important cases.
Leading Constitutional Decisions, by Robert F. Cushman. Englewoods, NJ: Prentice-Hall.
(KF4549 .C83) The Library has several editions of this title from 1925 to 1992.
Oxford Companion to the Supreme Court of the United States. NY: Oxford University Press, 1992.
(Law KF8742 .A35 O93 1992)
Alphabetical arrangement with comprehensive guide to history and current operation of the court. Also has biographical entries.
The Supreme Court At Work. 2nd ed. Washington: Congressional Quarterly Inc., 1997.
(Law KF8742 .S912 1997)
Covers development, operation, members and major decisions 1790-1996. Includes brief biographies. Selected bibliography, subject and case indexes.
Supreme Court Compendium: Data, Decisions and Developments. 4th ed. Washington: DQ Press, 2007.
(Ref KF8742 .S86 2007) Library has older editions in Main stacks.
Comprehensive collection of data and relevant information.
Supreme Court Decisions, 1893+
http://www.findlaw.com/casecode/supreme.html
Supreme Court of the United States
http://www.supremecourtus.gov/index.html
Covers information about the court and its procedures, calendars, court rules, opinions, orders, press releases, etc.
The Supreme Court Review. Chicago: University of Chicago Press.
(KF8741 .A15 S8, have 1960- ) Library Has Current Subscription
Annual. Discusses selected U.S. Supreme Court decisions
United States Law Week. Washington: Bureau of National Affairs.
(Law KF176 .U54, have 1967/68-2011 )
Cited as U.S.L.W.
Looseleaf service. Covers general laws and the Supreme Court.
United States Supreme Court Decisions: an Index to Excerpts, Reprints, and Discussions. By Nancy A. Guenther. 2nd ed. Metuchen, NJ: Scarecrow Press, 1983.
(Law KF101.6 .G83 1983)
Guide to articles, excerpts, reprints in books and periodical articles published 1960-1980. Divided into five sections. Subject and case indexes.
United States Supreme Court Digest, 1754 to date. St. Paul: West Publishing Co.
(Law KF101.1 U54)
Supreme Court decisions are analyzed for specific or general points and principles, which could be used as an authority. Subjects are arranged alphabetically. References are given to Supreme Court Cases, Am Jur, etc. Index of cases, words, court rules, etc. Updated by cumulative pocket supplements and occasional revised volumes.