Music : Conducting Research

• Early American Secular Music and its European Sources, 1589-1839: An Index 

This is a series of indexes derived from a data base of musical information compiled from primary sources covering the 250 years of the initial exploration and settlement of the United States. It consists of over 75,000 entries that are sorted by text (titles, first lines, recitatives, chorus and burden), by music incipits (represented in scale degrees, stressed notes and interval sequences), with additional indexes of names and theater works. Now in electronic format, the data can be fully searched, not only for initial strings, but also for internal words and melody sections.

• Index to Opera and Ballet Sources Online 

A guide to digital scores, libretti and documents. 

• Library of Congress Performing Arts Databases 

  The Performing Arts Databases page contains database and catalog resources that are intended to help users with research in the performing arts areas.  The databases are stand-alone resources that are not integrated with the rest of the Library’s digital collections or catalogs.  In many cases, the databases do not reflect actual holdings of the Library of Congress and are provided only as reference resources. These databases are managed by the Music Division; the Motion Picture, Broadcasting and Recorded Sound Division; and the American Folklife Center.

• Digital Resources for Musicology

  This website provides links to substantial open-access projects of use to musicians and musicologists. Digital Resources in Musicology (DRM) is organized topically and provides a rapid search tool for specialties within heterogeneous collections.

• Harvard Music Library Pinboard 

Curated by Harvard music librarians, this resource provides sources for a variety of topics, including historical musicology, ethnomusicology, music theory, composition, and performance practice.

• Metropolitan Opera Archives

Searchable database of the New York Metropolitan's archives. Users can search by performer, title, and season. Some entries feature reviews, while others list non-performers (designers, conductors, etc.) involved in productions. Users can also access the The Metropolitan Opera's main website, which includes articles discussing recent productions, arrangements for student vocal and instrumental ensembles, and educator guides. Users can also view materials from the now-dispersed Bispham Collection of Opera Memorabilia.